Buffalo Microstation 128GB Internal SSD Review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

At KitGuru we love our Solid State Storage drives, they consume very little power, outperform any mechanical drive and offer a fantastic real world experience, sometimes cutting down system boot times by half.

Today we are going to be looking at the Buffalo 128GB Microstation SSD drive which is based around a JMicron JMF612 controller, has a 64MB DRAM cache and offers speeds up to 240 MB/s read and 155 MB/s write.

The Buffalo drive comes with a complimentary suite of software: Turbo PC, Turbo Copy, Disk Formatter, Acronis True Image HD and Adobe Reader. The drive also comes with a USB connector built into the unit and a 3 year warranty.

Paul Hudson, Director at Buffalo Advantec FZCO said: “As the trend for internal SSD storage begins to pick up, our latest offering allows customers to easily upgrade their storage and experience the benefits of SSD, with the same industry standard dimensions as a 2.5-inch HDD, upgrading to SSD could not be easier.”

Form Factor 2.5 inch
On Board Cache 64MB
Number of Ports 1x SATA II, 1x USB 2.0
Dimensions 100mm x 69.85mm x 9.5mm
Weight 90g
Power Consumption Max 7.0W, Average 3.5W
Client OS Support Windows 7 (32bit/64bit)
Windows Vista (32bit/64bit)
Windows XP, Mac OSx 10.5 or later
(software only supports Windows platform)
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Buffalo Microstation 128GB Internal SSD Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 1 Email -- Facebook 0 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

  • Steve

    JMicron controllers really are struggling. When I saw you listed it on the page earlier in the review I was expecting a price around £230, not £280. thats considerably overpriced IMO.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Harry

    Good review, nice and honest which I like to see. it seems a good unit, but released maybe six months too late to be truly competitive.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bob

    Sadly, that seems a little overpriced as you say. Good enough drive by the looks of it, and i love the USB 2 option, really, I wish more would add that. performance is a little lacking just.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tom

    I really like buffalo as a company, but i looked at this drive last week as I wanted an SSD and finally found out it had a jmicron controller and knew it would perform much as it did in this review. Is the performance bad? hell no, but compared against the sandforce drives (and OCUK has the vertex 2 for the same price!), its a little of a bad deal. drop it to £230 and it would be a worthwhile purchase.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sam

    It is amazing how much this technology has advanced – the Buffalo drive a year ago would have been a class leader.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan

    oh well, but good review, I quite like the drive and the fact it clips apart. those screws are so labourous. Read performance is solid, but write is certainly hindering it a little.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian Little

    Im glad I found this review, I was going to buy it, for some reason I thought it was an indilinx controller. What a bad move from Buffalo. especially at this price.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tom Hinks

    Good honest review, thank you.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank

    It seems a solid drive just the pricing needs sorted. OCZ look like good value beside this. Quite an overlooked mistake from Buffalo.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Death Dealer

    Good product, I like it. Just not so sure about the price. I dont think anyone really NEEDS or notices some of these speed differences, and one or two extra seconds booting up would hardly be a problem :) drop the price by £50.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    Sadly the controller is letting it down a little when compared to the newest drives out. Would be tempting if the price was more competitive, it needs to drop significantly in todays market.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Kaye

    Disappointing :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Harold Fluffmeister

    Didnt even know buffalo were selling SSD’s, but yeah, thats way over the odds for what you are getting. those are 2009 prices for a 2009 drive.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terrance

    It is weird how people complain about these performancve levels when they are insanely high. We all expect so much now from everything.

    But its overpriced :p

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

How much would you pay for a gaming mouse?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives