Corsair Force F40 40GB SSD Review – in Raid 0

Review Score:
4 Flares 4 Flares ×

There has never been a better time to pick up an SSD boot drive with many of the leading manufacturers releasing 30-40GB units at very reasonable prices. KitGuru has already looked at the Intel X25-V 40GB and we were very impressed with the price to performance ratio, especially when set into a Raid 0 configuration.

Today we continue along similar lines and take a look at the newest Corsair 40GB SSD – the F40. These are retailing in the UK now for £95 inc vat, so for under £200 you could end up with a killer Raid 0 boot drive based around the class leading Sandforce SF-1200 controller. A single 120GB SSD makes for a great boot drive, but two 40GB’s are faster, and cheaper. It’s a dead cert win-win.

Corsair kindly sent us two of the F40′s and we decided to recreate our previous test environment and put them head to head against the Intel X25 V’s in Raid 0. The difference with the Corsair 40GB drives is that there is no performance hit like other SSD’s when they reduce the number of Flash ICs to reduce the cost.

Yep, this is going to get dirty. Just the way we like it.

Corsair Force 40GB F40
Capacity 40GB
Controller Sandforce SF-1200
Maximum Read 285MB/s
Maximum Write 275 MB/s
Sustained Write 250 MB/s
Max I/O Per Second (IOPS) 50,000 IOPS (4kb file)
NAND Flash Latest generation Sanforce controller Multi Level Cell (MLC)
Interface Sata II
Trim Support Yes – requires Windows 7
Warranty 2 Years
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Corsair Force F40 40GB SSD Review - in Raid 0, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
4 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 3 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 1 4 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

28 Comments
  • Terrance
    August 11, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    over half a gigabyte per second performance rates, hilarious. love it ! I remember when getting 30mb/s was considered awesome and it cost more than these.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech head
    August 11, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Damn Zardon do you ever sleep buddy? Great article and this seems to be a sweet price to performance point, under 200 for this? yes please. Sandforce controller is a very well balanced solution.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric K
    August 11, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very good too see such amazing performance and at such a modest price considering. I agree with the conclusion ‘delicious’ comment. it really is such a sweet time to buy technology.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond
    August 11, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    These make a nice combination. whats next? four drives ? :p

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Death Dealer
    August 11, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Dear god man, give me some of that lovely hardware you get daily, its not fair!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan
    August 11, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    OMG, my dreams have been answered I was wanting this EXACT review for a week now. This is my next purchase, but I do need to stop reading this site, I get envy with all the wicked products you get.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    August 11, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    It is interesting to see the real world tests at the end, its hard to really measure real world tests with such a configuration, as even a 500 MEG video file would be copied as you just dragged it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tom
    August 11, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Under £200, that is awesome. 40gb is a bit too small I think, so its nice you double the size and performance. will get these from OCUK.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garth
    August 11, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    two SSDs reviews in a day? spolit for choice :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jordan
    August 11, 2010
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Sandforce controller is wicked. now we need a raid 0 review of the 256 GB Crucial REALSSDs :) only 1k of SSD, bargain !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • larry and mo
    August 11, 2010
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    It is refreshing to see that performance isnt butchered due to going for a small size. sandforce rocks.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • AMD4EVER
    August 11, 2010
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Lovely, but I need a new video card first. will be next on my list, but single drive is enough for me,.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • simone
    August 11, 2010
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I was waiting for the crucial drives to come out at this size, but the marvell controller will not scale well at this size I dont think. 128gb for instance is poor compared to 256 unit.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francois LeBon
    August 11, 2010
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well that was rather interesting, over 500mb/s? wtf, speechless. not too shabby for 190 quid.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • stewart
    August 11, 2010
    #15
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Corsair make such brilliant products, love their power supplies too. Waiting on a 850W review :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Flo
    August 11, 2010
    #16
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Wow thats killer performance aint it ? Price is great. I dont think I would buy a single drive after reading this. raid 0 seems the way to go.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Farank
    August 11, 2010
    #17
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The intel drives have dropped in price, probably since these came out :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dank Night
    August 11, 2010
    #18
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Corsair have a good product here, seems the price point is good also. I wonder how they are selling, I dont know anyone who has bought an ssd.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Howno
    August 11, 2010
    #19
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    SSDs are finally becoming affordable. they really DO make a huge difference, I always thought it was nonsense until I bought one for my laptop. it makes it feel like a new machine.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Testies
    August 11, 2010
    #20
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Anyone here got one of these drives, id like another opinion :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Samuel Finkle
    August 11, 2010
    #21
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Good on Corsair, its forced the price of the intel drives another £10 :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • When Bobby kissed lucy
    August 11, 2010
    #22
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Are SSDs really that big a deal? I can generate wait a few seconds.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    August 11, 2010
    #23
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    It depends how much you use your computer and what you are doing on it. for surfing the net, and random things, might be not needed, but if you are seriously using it, its like one of the best upgrades you can give it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garry
    August 11, 2010
    #24
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I hear corsair are working on a new controller with indilinx. any truth in this?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • koensa
    August 12, 2010
    #25
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    what about performance detoriating?
    with RAID,trim is not possiblle…

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    August 12, 2010
    #26
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I guess reinstalls would need to be taken into consideration for systems with this. That said, I think for the audience with the knowledge to Raid 0 drives they would reinstall their OS after a few months anyway. I know I do. every 4 months or so.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech head
    August 12, 2010
    #27
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Actually Intel did release support for TRIM in raid o or raid 1. Not sure about these corsair units.
    http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardware/2010/03/23/intel-releases-trim-for-raid/1

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • seth
    August 13, 2010
    #28
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Tigerdirect has these on sale right now for $99.99 after $30 mail in rebate. I’m picking one up tonight.

    Thanks for the review..

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives