Alienware Aurora R4 Review

Review Score:
18 Flares 18 Flares ×

We review a lot of system components at Kitguru, but sometimes we like to target the audience who have no interest or time to build their own computer. The system we are looking at today might appeal to that audience, because it is the latest high specification Core i7 Aurora R4 which is shipped inside a very sexy custom chassis.

Alienware are a little like Marmite, you either love them or hate them. Over the years of working with the company and reviewing their products, its been a bit of a mixed bag for me. I really do appreciate their high spec custom gaming laptops (such as the stunning M18x), but have found some of their desktop systems to be a little uninspiring, even utilizing some questionable components.

The Aurora R4 which we are reviewing today however looks like a good move forward for the company. The basic system starts at an affordable £1,199, and can be scaled to satisfy the biggest, fattest wallets. The specification we have on our test bench today comprises an Intel i7-3930k, 8GB of DDR3 memory, SSD/HDD combo and a 1.5GB GTX580 running on 64 bit Windows 7.

At £2,734.00 inc vat it really does need to deliver the goods.

aurora r4 Alienware Aurora R4 Review

Alienware Aurora R4
Base Alienware Aurora Matt Black 875W Chassis
Microsoft Operating System English Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Memory 8192MB (4x2GB) 1600mhz DDR3 Quad Channel
Keyboard Alienware TactX keyboard UK QWERTY
Monitor Display not included
Video Card Nvidia GTX580 1.5GB
Hard Drive 256GB SSD & 1TB SATA 6Gb/s (7,200) 32 mb cache
Floppy Drives and Additional Storage Devices Alienware 19-in-1 Media card reader
Mouse Alienware TactX Mouse
Optical Drive DVD+/-RW (Read/Write) 24x
Sound Cards Integrated HDA 7.1 Dolby Digital capability
Wireless Networking 802.11n WiFi & Bluetooth 2.1 EDR USB
Shipping Documents English Documentation
Warranty 1 year Business Day Hardware Support
Processor Intel Core i7 3930K (six core, 12MB cache)
Dell System Media Kit Alienware Aurora Resource DVD
Total Price £2,734.00

.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Alienware Aurora R4 Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
18 Flares Google+ 1 Twitter 2 Reddit 2 StumbleUpon 1 Email -- Facebook 12 18 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

  • Robert

    beautiful indeed, but its too much cash really for me. I admire the work on the case though. wish they would sell those cases.

    Silverstone help make the case? sure as hell looks like their design.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian D

    wozzers. id buy that if I could afford it,. im crap at making cases and I like warranty support. I suck I know, but i love this ! ill have a look at something closer to £1,500, see what I can get. or get the cheapest option and buy the graphics card for it and install myself later.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • davisd

    Ive never owned an alienware, but i am put off by some of the comments i read on forums, that they are unreliable and problems can occur.

    I would be worried about this complex case breaking down. how long can you extend the warranty for this kind of machine?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymondf

    Overpriced, but quite good looking. I wouldnt buy it, id want a better motherboard and overclocked out of the box for this price. system builders in the UK wuold offer a better system for less. like cyberpower

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian Talbot

    I bought one of these and I want to add my views to the review

    1: the case is brilliant, but I find the top flaps annoying after a while, they make a fair bit of noise when moving and at night its a little distracting, even though it looks great.

    2: the cooler can sometimes go very loud for no reason, well on mine it does. did you experience that Zardon? the temps might be 50c and the fan just seems to go very high without a reason.

    3: bios is very poor. we could get the processor to 4.4ghz easy enough, the cooler can handle it, so why not allow for it?

    4: the top panel is annoying, I have to bend over the machine to find the USB ports as they aren’t visible if the case is under a table. you have to ‘feel around’ for the port without being able to see it.

    5: sometimes my machine hangs on start up

    overall though im impressed with it, it looks great and is very tiny in regards to height. so it suits me totally.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    Hi Brian,

    The flaps don’t seem that loud to me, perhaps in a silent room they might be a little noticeable? I also didnt experience any problems with the radiator fan ‘spiking’. did you adjust the settings in the software for improved cooling?

    Bios isn’t great, yes I agree.

    The top panel ports, yes I can see how that would be a problem, especially if you attach and detach lots of devices regularly.

    When the machine hangs. have you a USB drive connected? where does it hang, on the bios number page or after as windows is starting?

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian Talbot

    Zardon, the top port idea is great if you have the machine out in the open all the time, but to work from the front over a ‘ledge’ to get access to the ports from a rear mounted position is tricky and needless. a cover is great, but mount them forward for ease of accessibility, right?

    The system sometimes hangs when its posting and the little bar should ‘grow’ to the right. a reset sorts it, and it only seems to happen from cold. not in relation to a connected USB drive. I need to report it and see if they have a solution. ive been waiting on a new bios update tosee if it sorts it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian Talbot

    some other problems too here http://arena.cevo.com/forums/topic/12765/hardware/aurora-r4-problem/?quote=328408&who=krishnooof

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Clappers

    Do not buy ALIENWARE AURORA R4!
    I bought one of these 5 months ago, never had so many problems with a computer. Multiple blue screens of death. Couldn’t play any games. It was unbearable. The tech support staff was nice and they tryed to fix the problem. but they couldn’t. I finaly got a complete refund, and bought a custom build from NCIX. Very satisfied with my new one. Dell does have exelent service, but the product was just not up to par.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: How to Find the Best Deals For Computers | Budget Sense()

Polls

Which monitor next?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives