Alienware M18x Laptop Review (with i7-2960XM Extreme Edition)

Review Score:
39 Flares 39 Flares ×

Alienware have a well earned reputation for creating some of the most exotic, ludicrously specified gaming machines and today we look at their M18x laptop which features the latest flagship Intel Core i7 2960XM Extreme Edition processor, Bluray drive, 8GB of 1600mhz DDR3 memory and dual Nvidia GTX560m graphics.

The M18x is no superportable, nor is it a bargain sub £500 machine either, with specifications ranging from £1,700 to over £5,000 it is a serious investment for a serious enthusiast. The model we are looking at today costs around £3,568 inc vat and features the Intel Core i7 2950XM Extreme Edition processor.

We already know the M17x is a killer laptop, so we were particularly interested to experience the bigger brother with dual graphics cards. With the ability to manually overclock the system even further, is this the ultimate performance laptop?

Review System Specifications:

Item Description
Base Alienware M18x Nebula Red
Memory 8GB 1600MHz DDR3 Dual Channel (4x2GB)
Keyboard Internal UK/Irish Qwerty Keyboard
Video Card Dual 1.5GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 560M SLI™
Hard Drive 256GB Dell Mobility Solid State Drive
Microsoft Operating System English Genuine Windows® 7 Professional (64 BIT)
Optical Devices Blu-Ray ROM Combo (Blu-ray read only, DVD, CD read and write) Drive
Sound Integrated High-Definition 5.1 Performance Audio Powered by Klipsch®
Wireless Networking Killer™ Wireless-N 1103 – EUR
Cables UK 2M 250V Power Cord
Shipping Documents English Documentation
Gedis Bundle Reference N08W1801
Standard Warranty 1 year Next Business Day Hardware Support included with your PC
Enhanced Service Packs 1Yr Next Day Hardware Support included with your PC
Bluetooth Dell Wireless 375 Bluetooth Card – EUR
Order Information Alienware M18x Order – UK
Primary Battery Primary 12-cell 96W/HR LI-ION
Carrying Cases No Carrying Case
Processor Intel® Core™ i7 2960XM Overclocked Turbo Boost (8MB Cache)
Dell System Media Kit Alienware Resource DVD
Camera Integrated 3.0 Mega Pixel HD Camera
Avatar Alienhead 3D
AutoMatic Updates AutoMatic updates – On
Wallpapers Redefining your standards Wallpaper
TimeZone (GMT + 00.00) Dublin, Edinburgh, Lisbon, London
AlienFx Colour Mars Red
Accidental Damage Support No Accidental Damage Protection
LCD 18.4″ (47 cm) WideFHD (1920 x 1080) WLED LCD
Hidden NamePlate Engraving Generic Name Plate Engraving
Protect your new PC No Antivirus Software
Power Supply 330W AC Adapter
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Alienware M18x Laptop Review (with i7-2960XM Extreme Edition), 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
39 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 4 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 34 39 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

11 Comments
  • Gareth
    September 25, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    That really is insane. the price makes my wallet cry however
    :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • David
    September 25, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    That is an incredible computer, kind of a dream machien for most people. Also that CPU is amazing, its like a desktop chip in a mobile package.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Manny
    September 25, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The 2960 extreme edition is breaking new groud, especially for mobile systems. problem is the price, its a hell of a lot more than the closest CPU which is only moderately slower (until its overclocked anyway).

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • William
    September 25, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The red is much nicer than the boring black IMO. the bare bones system isn’t a bad price, do you get the same panel for the entry level priced model?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Orion
    September 25, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    How did you update the driver? my m17x says it isnt a supported device on the Nvidia site? ill have to try again with that driver you used.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • James
    September 26, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This is a great laptop system, I have the m17x and love it, but im sorry I didnt buy the 18 :( id love dual 560m

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Forrest
    September 26, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    They cost so much money, but they make a statement. I dont think this machine could be carried about however it is far too big and heavy. almost 6kg? ouch!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brooke
    September 26, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The appearance is spectacular, the black one looks so dull. Its interesting to see they dont charge more for the red in this range, but the lower specification machines it costs £10 extra.

    They should make some with specialised Alienware skins, like they allow for on the inspiron 17 inch range, but make them all alien based transfers for the lid.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • John
    October 21, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I would not pay this much money just to get so little in return. But i’m not reach and i don’t need/like laptops, if i were all that i guess i’d take it. As stands i can make a desktop that outperforms that laptop with $1k.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Davy
    October 21, 2011
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Sure, I think we all could, but its missing the point. its a laptop, and it looks pretty nice to me, with a very impressive screen.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Alienware Aurora R4 Review | KitGuru
    March 28, 2012
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] bag for me. I really do appreciate their high spec custom gaming laptops (such as the stunning M18x), but have found some of their desktop systems to be a little uninspiring, even utilizing some [...]

Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives