ASUS PA238Q LED Monitor Review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

Today we are looking at the new ASUS PA238Q LED Monitor, the little brother to the PA246Q which we reviewed back in May this year. The Pro Art 238Q is targeted at web professionals, designers and the discerning enthusiast audience who demand a high quality image.

The Asus PA238Q is a 23 inch IPS screen, a new addition to the Pro Art Series. It is an LED backlit design with a native 1920×1080 resolution. Asus claim that is reproduces 100% of the sRGB colour space and every monitor is calibrated in the factory for accuracy ‘out of the box’.

Asus also ship the monitor with ‘QuickFit Virtual Scale software’ to display photographs and documents at their true size. It is also supplied with a heavy duty stand, which rotates to allow for portrait mode display. It includes HDMI, Display Port, DVI-D and VGA output, with a USB hub built into the chassis.

 ASUS PA238Q LED Monitor Review

Overview:

Panel Size: Wide Screen 23.0″(58.4cm) 16:9
Color Saturation : 100% (sRGB)
Panel Type : IPS
True Resolution : 1920×1080
Full HD 1080P : Yes
Pixel Pitch : 0.2652mm
Brightness(Max) : 250 cd/㎡
ASUS Smart Contrast Ratio (ASCR) : 50000000:1
Viewing Angle (CR≧10) : 178°(H)/178°(V)
Response Time : 6ms (Gray to Gray)
Display Colors : 16.7M
LCD ZBD Warranty : Yes

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
ASUS PA238Q LED Monitor Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 1 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6

  • Uriel

    270 is a great price. nice one from asus

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dave

    Excellent, looks really good value for money.I have never had an IPS screen before, but would really like the improved viewing angles.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian

    Thats a mega price for an ASUS IPS screen. the last one appealed to me also, but it was the same price as the Dell U2410 which I couldnt afford either.

    Time to start saving.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric

    Wonder why they left out an HDMI cable from the box? id rather get the free displayport cable however as they are more expensive.

    Good review, but I just bought an illyama last month so no new IPS screen for me for some time im afraid.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • William Red

    Just ordered one, been waiting on this for a while, didnt know it was already out. thanks.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Iain

    Excellent, its either this or the illyama 27 inch, same price. im not really that bothered about colour accuracy, but like the size for gaming. tough decision for me,

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • RaihanR

    Great review, I’m sure, but buying a screen from a review is like buying a car from a photo. If I’m in Croydon, south London, where can I see one of these running? Am I alone, but if there was a shop in London with all the popular screens side by side, then that’s where I’d buy from, assuming they didn’t take the piss on price.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • 63jax

    and one very important aspect this screen uses only mild AG coating which is a good thing considering that all IPS screens uses aggressive coating and they all look noisy and dirty. this one i a fairly good monitor boys.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • troll13

    ASUS PA2438Q is not 10-bit Screen its 8-bit Screen
    10-bit would have 1.07 bil colours

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    The internal firmware of the PA238Q uses a 10-bit lookup table for RGB coloration

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Steevo

    Any word on RaihanR’s query about where these can be seen?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    A store you can use it you mean? Not sure. There are several etail stores stocking them in the UK however.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • DC

    Have purchased this from Overclockers for £217.99 + £10.00 delivery. Its currently £221.99 there.
    Have not yet fully explored the settings or played around with it and would endorse the review with a proviso or two.
    The stand on mine is plastic, however it is as balanced and smooth in operation as the review suggests.
    The bezel surround appearance will not appeal to all, its kind of retro dated however it is matt finished which is a plus. There are also grid markings round the screen, millimeteres/centimetres left side and bottom, inches right side and top. Its not overly intrusive (there are no numbers, just indentations) but it does take away the smooth line appearance. The red insert at the bottom is also a matter of taste, its not to mine but hardly a deal breaker.
    Going from a larger screen TN panel to this smaller one is going to need adjusting too however the improvement of the image quality over the TN is huge, colours are richer, brighter, dynamic but not saturated. Have noticed a slight softening of some viewed photos compared to the TN panel and was just wondering wheter this is because IPS is less forgiving than TN?
    When you turn the panel on the light bleed from the corners is noticeable, particularly left side top and bottom but once the image is on screen its not noticeable apart from in the dark with a dark image on screen there is a slight sign of the bleed.
    Daytime wise the matt screen finish is first rate for cutting out reflections.
    For the price i paid its a very good monitor though i would have preferred the larger 24″ which is also 1920 x 1200 whereas this 23″ is 1920 X 1080 however the 24″ is a whole lot more expensive and this is my first dip into IPS waters so did not want to splash out to much cash.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • malVizio

    just bought one!! tuesday will be mine!!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bryans

    Lately a lot of vendors are producing LED backlit IPS monitors and 3D LED monitors, one monitor that caught my attention was the Samsung SyncMaster S23A750D, 3D LED monitor (120 Hz, 2 ms) specifically for the AMD HD 3D is equipped with DisplayPort 1.2.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bryans

    Can Kitguru make a review about SyncMaster S23A750D?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

How much would you pay for a gaming mouse?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives