Roccat Kone XTD 8200 DPI Gaming Mouse Review

Review Score:
260 Flares 260 Flares ×

Roccat’s gaming mouse portfolio sees the newest leader to its flagship series. Can the 8200 DPI-capable Kone XTD prove that it deserves to sit at the summit of Roccat’s critically acclaimed mouse catalogue?

Roccat has sent a bold message to its competitors by aiming to improve the already highly successful Kone series of mice. Upgrades in the form of an improved sensor and enhanced processor, amongst others, aim to build upon the Kone[+] mouse’s success by retaining its likeable features and adding a performance boost to sweeten the deal.

Equipped with an 8200 DPI Pro-Aim Sensor R3, 72MHz Turbo Core V2 32-bit Arm based MCU and Tracking & Distance Control Unit, have Roccat’s upgrades paid off? Or is the end-user left to front the cost?

MAIN Roccat Kone XTD 8200 DPI Gaming Mouse Review

Specifications:

  • Pro-Aim Laser Sensor R3 with up to 8200dpi
  • 1000Hz polling rate
  • 1ms response time
  • 12000fps, 10.8megapixel
  • 30G acceleration
  • 3.8m/s (150ips)
  • 16-bit data channel
  • 1-5mm Lift off distance
  • Tracking & Distance Control Unit
  • 72MHz Turbo Core V2 32-bit Arm based MCU
  • 576kB onboard memory
  • Zero angle snapping/prediction
  • 1.8m braided USB cable
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Roccat Kone XTD 8200 DPI Gaming Mouse Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
260 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 10 Reddit 3 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 247 260 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5

  • Manacuna

    Im hard to please, and was using Steelseries for years, never really got into Razer mice, but I bought a Roccat mouse last year and love it. this is next on my list, before christmas!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank

    thats very expensive, but razer are around the same price. I like the shape, shame about the software issues, but it might be a bug or something they will iron out. I had a problem on my Sensei mouse, I updated the firmware and it killed the mouse as it failed. they had a fix for it, but it took weeks for them to sort it out.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Warren

    Very nicely styled, looks bigger too. I hate the wimpy small mice, ive big hands.

    Used a few of their mice in the past, always well built and nicely packaged.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian

    Great review Luke, well detailed and honest.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  • Xtreme

    Love the design too, they use a very appealing material on the top shell which gives grip but feels great.

    Never had a roccat mouse,. im still using an old logitech which I love, but I might treat myself in december as ill get crap presents from my friends and family which I never like.

    This and a Kindle on my list !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Davis

    Looks actually very like my Logitech I think. Not a bad thing. I can’t see how anyone could effectively use 8,200 dpi however. even 5,200 dpi is ‘twitchy’.

    Luke is this your favourite mouse?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Luke Hill

    Davis, I don’t hold any particular preferences – I prefer to see the strengths and weaknesses of a particular product in comparison to another. In this case, the mouse has a good set of strengths with only a few weaknesses. It certainly is an excellent mouse and I’m sure that anybody would be happy to use it… and perhaps call it their favourite :).

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • alexandre gauthier

    Personally i got a logitech g510 keyboard for my first gaming keyboard and im not very impressed… it cheap like the other but with color…

    Razer i see some mouse at a shop near my house.. i dont want them they look cheap… i think if one fall all the part break… And roccat i dont no?? it this heavy plastic?? or cheap plastic?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • gorman

    Looks good. Maybe finally a worthy replacement, to my Logietch MX510.

    Will really consider getting this unit.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Luke Hill

    We have worked with Roccat and discovered a work-around to the slow software problem, as detailed in the relevant update to the review.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • gorman

    Can you use this mouse, out-of-the-box?

    And how does it perform that way?
    As I’m used to a plug and play MX510 logitech without the need of any software.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which Platform/CPU next for you?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives