Apple iPad 3 Review (64GB)

Review Score:
7 Flares 7 Flares ×

Today we are looking at the Apple iPad 3, the latest version of the tablet computer that has been breaking worldwide sales records over the last two years. It has been impossible to escape the hype, everyone knows that the latest version has the new super high resolution Retina screen, a new camera and QUAD GPU processing power. Apple have even managed to maintain the same price point, but is it worth the upgrade?

The Apple iPad revolutionised the tablet industry when it was first released in April 2010. I was one of the first to buy the tablet computer, bypassing UK delays and ordering it directly from the States. Over the next two years, the success of the tablet has surprised not only the public, but industry experts. The latest reports indicate that Apple are on track to sell over 65 million iPad’s in 2012, which will generate the company billions of dollars in revenue.

The reason the iPad has been so successful is really simple. Apple have nailed the iOS interface. I have first hand experience with this after spending months using the Motorola Xoom. While this is a very capable Android powered tablet, it really does pale in comparison after using the iPad.

When the iPad 2 was released I spent some time using one that our news guy Carl bought in 2011. There was no doubting that the dual core A5 processor was more responsive and that the lighter mass helped on the move, but the first iPad did everything that I needed.

ACC 0877 DxO 300x225 Apple iPad 3 Review (64GB)

I have spent the last 24 hours using the iPad 3 and this time I decided to buy the 64GB model. With the enhanced graphics power and 2,048×1,536 panel you can be sure that games and newly developed applications will be hogging more storage space, so it seemed like a logical move.

It won’t be an indepth review today, but our team will be following up with other iPad 3 related articles shortly, so keep watching this space.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Apple iPad 3 Review (64GB), 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
7 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 5 7 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6

  • Erin

    still waiting on mine to arrive, hopefully next week :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • David

    I never bought an ipad, but ended up with a cheap android tablet. Its ok, but I want the new ipad 3. never used an apple product before so it will be fun.

    Just ordered one this morning (32gb). will be a few weeks before I can tey it out :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Implied

    On the subject of Games, there’s a new Infinity Blade: Dungeons from Epic Games designed specifically for the iPad 3, and I believe Infinity Blade II has been updated to support the new Retina Display on the iPad 3 as well, but don’t quote me on the second bit. Also, expanding on the Graphics – They claim the GPU holds 4x the power of an Nvidia Tegra 3. Going by these Benchmarks, I’m quite inclined to believe that. If so, I believe this might just be the most powerful (Graphics-wise specifically) Tablet on the market to date.

    4G is broken in Europe? Damn. :|

    Far as the Camera – Purists will never be pleased with anything built into a Smartphone, Cellphone, Tablet, Laptop, Desktop or anything else :P

    Think they’re avoiding a 128GB version because of the size. Or the cost. Not sure. There’s always iCloud for extra storage anyway.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brooke

    Its the first one ive been tempted to buy…….. ill wait until stocks are more available, no rush.

    thanks for the review :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mama

    Very nice. photos dont seem bad for this either. whats the video recording like from it ? rubbish ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.13amp.org/newipad jamesg99

    The new screen is so much better than the iPad2 screen. I’ve uploaded some comparison photos here: http://www.13amp.org/newipad/

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: ipad 3 review | Best Ipad Apps()

  • DrBabz

    Remember, it’s really an iPad 2x ;)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: Transforming ASUS’ Eee Pad by shoving an Ice Cream Sandwich into it - IT Lounge()

  • http://fromjaystobrooks.com/ Angel L. Ramos

    I am interested in the faster processor. From what I can tell the iPad 3 has a better quality with its graphics compared to iPad 2. You also get a better battery. I will definitely be upgrading in the next couple of weeks.

    Angel recently posted 3 Things You Need to Know About the iPad 3

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which monitor next?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives