Coolink Corator DS and SWiF2 120P / 1201 fans Review

Review Score:
1 Flares 1 Flares ×

2010 has been a great year for processor heatsinks, there are a plethora of options available, from modest budget £12 heatsinks to wallet sapping high end solutions costing in excess of £60.

Today we are looking at the Corator DS from Coolink, a company perhaps not recognised by many enthusiast users. They are the retail arm of Rascom who are involved with Noctua, one of KitGuru’s favourite cooling companies. The heatsink we are reviewing is a dual tower design that utilises Gapless Direct Touch technology with four large 8mm heat pipes transfering heat to aluminum fins. Today we are going to compare it against the similarly priced Thermaltake Frio and the top of the line cooler from Noctua, the NH D14 ‘Austrian Sandwich’.

Noctua are marketed to the high end enthusiast audience and the Coolink products are aimed more for performance users with slightly tighter budgets. We wouldn’t class them as a ‘budget’ cooling arm of the main parent company, just targeted slightly more at a mainstream audience. This cooler looks a little to me like a Noctua NH D14 after a diet, so it will be interesting to see how it compares.

The NH D14 and Frio are two of the finest coolers around the £40 and £60 price points and the Corator DS has a hefty task ahead of it to compete with either.

Coolink Corator SD GDT HSF Features

  • Four 8mm heatpipes -Asymmetrical dual fin stacks
  • Gapless Direct Touch technology
  • SWiF2-120P high-performance 120mm fan
  • PWM fan speed control
  • SecuFirm2 multi-socket mounting system
  • Chillaramic thermal compound

Coolink Corator SD CPU Cooler Specifications

  • Socket compatibility Intel LGA1366, LGA1156, LGA775 AMD AM2, AM2+, AM3
  • Height (with fan): 155 mm
  • Width (with fan): 140 mm
  • Depth (with fan): 121 mm
  • Weight (with fan): 1040 g
  • Material: Copper (base and heat-pipes), aluminum (cooling fins)
  • Fan size: 120x120x25 mm
  • Fan: Coolink SWiF2-120P
  • Bearing: high-performance hydro-dynamic bearing
  • Rotational Speed (+/- 10%): 800 – 1700 RPM
  • Airflow: 60.4 – 127.6 ml/h
  • Acoustical Noise: 8.5 – 27.1 dB/A
  • Scope of Delivery: Heatsink, SWiF2-120P Fan, Mounting Hardware (SecuFirm2 for AMD & Intel), Thermal Paste, English Manual
  • Warranty: 5 years

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Coolink Corator DS and SWiF2 120P / 1201 fans Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
1 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 1 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

13 Comments
  • Nathan
    August 15, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This is a brilliant cooler but I think its slightly overpriced and very hard to buy anywhere.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sam
    August 15, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Seems to be a great product again from the strikeforce behind Noctua. Shame it only has one fan, most high end coolers now come with two, it proves that two is better with this review t oo.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    August 15, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    These austrian guys are really into delivering some awesome CPU coolers. where is their main factory? far east or local?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian
    August 15, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    It is great but as the review says, it has stiff competition at the price. Frio is £35 here now, and its hard to beat at that price point.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan
    August 15, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very good review, liked the fact you tested with not only 1 fan, but added one more then 2 more ! I think it proves to coolink they need to add another and keep the price point, it would sell more im sure.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Death Dealer
    August 15, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Good product, but I agree, the FRIO is close and costs quite a bit less.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank
    August 15, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I could certainly tell the parent company behind Noctua were involved. because these guys make some brilliant fans, with the WORST COLOR SCHEMES IVE EVER SEEN ! bright yellow or burgundy. lovely. :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joe
    August 15, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I almost bought this cooler last week, but went for a cheaper one. It seems a very good product. I like the yellow fans also, very dramatic.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garry
    August 15, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great review thanks

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank
    August 15, 2010
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very good looking heatsink – nice designs from these companies, good products.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • seth
    August 15, 2010
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    excellent quality product as I would have expected. I think I would get this if I could find it on sale anywhere locally. Seems even harder to get here than Noctua products

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Percy
    August 15, 2010
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Those fans are brilliant lookin. never seen bright yellow fans before. need to get a few of those.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Slashs Top Hat
    August 15, 2010
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Wozzers, didnt know these guys owned Noctua as well. they seem to be a hell of a company releasing some awesome products.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives