Intel Core i7 2600K and Core i5 2500K review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

The release of Intel’s second generation of Core Processors has been a hot topic of conversion among the enthusiast audience now for many months. They have a total of twenty nine new chips reaching retail and today KitGuru will be looking at the i5-2500k and the i7-2600k, both of which have fully unlocked cores.

The new Sandybridge architecture is a ‘tock’ in the tick-tock cycle and its based on the 32nm microarchitecture, new highlights include improved energy efficiency and a new set of Advanced Vector Extensions (AVX) for enhanced floating point intensive application performance. With claims of over 30% performance improvements compared to the last generation, there certainly seems to be a lot on offer.

Today, our coverage is slightly condensed, due to the fact that at the last moment Intel brought the NDA forward, a time period we had originally planned to use for overclocking and power analysis. We therefore plan to follow this article up in the future with a more indepth look at certain aspects of the technology, as well as an analysis of the overclocking capabilities (we have a few hours before launch time, so we might get something done in another article before then).

New Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Range (LGA 1155):

Core i7 Extreme Edition Processor
Mobile: i7-2920XM

Core i7 Processors
Mobile: i7-2820QM, i7-2720QM, i7-2630QM, 2635QM, i7-2620M, i7-2649M, i7-2629M (aka LV) , i7-2657M, i7-2617M (aka ULV)
Desktop: i7-2600K, i7-2600S, i7-2600

Core i5 Processors
Mobile: i5-2540M, i5-2520M, i5-2410M, i5-2537M (aka ULV)
Desktop: i5-2500K, i5-2500S, i5-2500T, i5-2500, i5-2400, i5-2400S, i5-2390T, i5-2300

Core i3 Processors
Mobile: i3-2310M
Desktop: i3-2120, i3-2100, i3-2100T

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Intel Core i7 2600K and Core i5 2500K review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 0 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 1 Email -- Facebook 1 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

13 Comments
  • Roger
    January 3, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Wow, those are mega processors. have to get me one

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric
    January 3, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great article and they really are good improvements. poor amd :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan
    January 3, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    These are certainly impressive, especially considering the price points they have achieved, which I certainlyw asnt expecting.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francis
    January 3, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Compared to the last generation they have certainly delivered much faster processors. I wasnt expecting such huge gains

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joe The Manicle
    January 3, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    That ASRock fatal1ty board looks stunning doesnt it ? Very impressive overall platform from everyone involved.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Victor
    January 3, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Thumbs up from me. waiting in line like everyone else for my chip now :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ned
    January 3, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Those intel boards are really nice designs, they seem to getting better and better as the years and releases continue.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • John
    January 3, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well I had almost bought a 1100T from AMd, and now I really don’t know what to do :( these are so damn good and the price points are excellent. the 1100T costs around the same as the 2600K and it wont really go past 4.3ghz.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Nathan
    January 3, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    There is a clear reason Intel are market leaders, and this is a good showcase of why.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Lekdiel
    January 3, 2011
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Excellent, count me in when I get the funds up.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • JarHead
    January 3, 2011
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    AMD need to answer this with something good in 2011, but I am not sure they can anymore. I remember the good old days of FX processors when they led the way. whatever happened :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • John
    April 20, 2011
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    not that much faster than the 2010 core cpu’s people who say they are are complete idiots on avg perormance increase is about 10%

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Singer DInger
    December 31, 2011
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Francis, you’re completely wrong, it’s not that much faster at all, it’s anywhere between -5( meaning slower) to +10 as john already stated

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives