Intel Core i7 2600K and Core i5 2500K review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

The release of Intel’s second generation of Core Processors has been a hot topic of conversion among the enthusiast audience now for many months. They have a total of twenty nine new chips reaching retail and today KitGuru will be looking at the i5-2500k and the i7-2600k, both of which have fully unlocked cores.

The new Sandybridge architecture is a ‘tock’ in the tick-tock cycle and its based on the 32nm microarchitecture, new highlights include improved energy efficiency and a new set of Advanced Vector Extensions (AVX) for enhanced floating point intensive application performance. With claims of over 30% performance improvements compared to the last generation, there certainly seems to be a lot on offer.

unlocked Intel Core i7 2600K and Core i5 2500K review

Today, our coverage is slightly condensed, due to the fact that at the last moment Intel brought the NDA forward, a time period we had originally planned to use for overclocking and power analysis. We therefore plan to follow this article up in the future with a more indepth look at certain aspects of the technology, as well as an analysis of the overclocking capabilities (we have a few hours before launch time, so we might get something done in another article before then).

New Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Range (LGA 1155):

Core i7 Extreme Edition Processor
Mobile: i7-2920XM

Core i7 Processors
Mobile: i7-2820QM, i7-2720QM, i7-2630QM, 2635QM, i7-2620M, i7-2649M, i7-2629M (aka LV) , i7-2657M, i7-2617M (aka ULV)
Desktop: i7-2600K, i7-2600S, i7-2600

Core i5 Processors
Mobile: i5-2540M, i5-2520M, i5-2410M, i5-2537M (aka ULV)
Desktop: i5-2500K, i5-2500S, i5-2500T, i5-2500, i5-2400, i5-2400S, i5-2390T, i5-2300

Core i3 Processors
Mobile: i3-2310M
Desktop: i3-2120, i3-2100, i3-2100T

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Intel Core i7 2600K and Core i5 2500K review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 0 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 1 Email -- Facebook 1 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

  • Roger

    Wow, those are mega processors. have to get me one

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric

    Great article and they really are good improvements. poor amd :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan

    These are certainly impressive, especially considering the price points they have achieved, which I certainlyw asnt expecting.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francis

    Compared to the last generation they have certainly delivered much faster processors. I wasnt expecting such huge gains

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joe The Manicle

    That ASRock fatal1ty board looks stunning doesnt it ? Very impressive overall platform from everyone involved.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Victor

    Thumbs up from me. waiting in line like everyone else for my chip now :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ned

    Those intel boards are really nice designs, they seem to getting better and better as the years and releases continue.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • John

    Well I had almost bought a 1100T from AMd, and now I really don’t know what to do :( these are so damn good and the price points are excellent. the 1100T costs around the same as the 2600K and it wont really go past 4.3ghz.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Nathan

    There is a clear reason Intel are market leaders, and this is a good showcase of why.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Lekdiel

    Excellent, count me in when I get the funds up.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • JarHead

    AMD need to answer this with something good in 2011, but I am not sure they can anymore. I remember the good old days of FX processors when they led the way. whatever happened :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • John

    not that much faster than the 2010 core cpu’s people who say they are are complete idiots on avg perormance increase is about 10%

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Singer DInger

    Francis, you’re completely wrong, it’s not that much faster at all, it’s anywhere between -5( meaning slower) to +10 as john already stated

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: Chegam os processadores Intel Sandy Bridge

Polls

Which Platform/CPU next for you?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives