HIS HD 6870 Turbo 1GB Video Card Review

Review Score:
3 Flares 3 Flares ×

KitGuru has already reviewed many AMD HD6800 series cards and we have been impressed with the competitive pricing and mid range performance. The GTX460 dominated the market for many weeks but AMD finally stepped up to the plate.

Today we are going to look at the new HIS HD6870 Turbo Edition Card, which while featuring the same reference AMD cooling system, is supplied with modest overclocks. None of the leading manufacturers have yet to release a custom cooled HD6870, so it looks as if we will have to wait a while longer.

Many overclocked cards are hand picked from the production line to ensure that RMA’s don’t prove to be an issue long term.

AMD HD6870
HIS HD6870 Turbo
Core Clock Speed
900mhz
920mhz
Stream Processors
1120
1120
ROPs
32
32
Frame Buffer
1GB GDDR5
1GB GDDR5
Bus Type
PCI Express 2.1
PCI Express 2.1
Memory Width/Speed
256bit, 4.2GBPS
256 bit, 4.48GBPS
Power Connectors
Dual 6 Pin
Dual 6 Pin
Display Outputs
2xDVI + 2x mDP + 1 HDMI
2xDVI + 2x mDP + 1 HDMI
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
HIS HD 6870 Turbo 1GB Video Card Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
3 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 1 3 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

10 Comments
  • Scott
    November 12, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very nice overclocking. the 6870′s seem pretty close to their limits. I wonder will anyone be able to sell one at 1ghz core with a custom cooler down the line? I dont think so. might be 950mhz will be the limit for these retail.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garry
    November 12, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Seems a good buy, but the 6850 would be my choice as they overclock so well. seem basically the same limits as the 6870s on the core anyway.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond
    November 12, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    HIS are really good. I think their reputation is a little unwarranted. ive owned a few of their ATI (Amd?) boards in the past and never had an issue. I would wait on a custom cooled one though, these reference coolers are never wonderful. 80+c on these cards seems rather high, id like to see mid 70s. which a reference cooler wont deliver.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank The Tank
    November 12, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very nice, but HD6850 is more in line with what I want. im buying one at christmas then another in the new year. should keep me going for years. I like the 1080p tests here. I cant afford a 30 inch screen and find those results hard for me to work out. maybe a lot of people own a 30 inch screen, lucky bastards :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ben
    November 12, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Good card, they all are though. not sure id pay £20 for a bios update, unless the card is a hand picked model then it seems worth it. sadly HIS dont mention this, so I would assume they are maybe just from a specific batch with good yield.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • John
    November 12, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    A problem I always have is with reviewer samples. If this card is £20 more for 20mhz core increase and its identical, then it seems a bit expensive. Granted the memory is much higher than reference, but I think most 6870s hit those speeds anyway.

    Could very well be HIS hand pick reviewer samples. but its hard to know.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Colin McGuinness
    November 12, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    IM furious. and will lodge a complaint with OCUK. I bought this last week for £240. its down to £215 on their site now. fucking pissed off.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    November 12, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    great range of cards. I know some of the press dont think they are exciting, but its basically a HD5870 for a portion of the price last year.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tonka
    November 12, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    You know, this would have been great to test against a 580 if you used both HIS cards in Crossfire. Actually, where is your 580 review?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ginflicker
    November 12, 2010
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Real shame they didnt use a custom cooler on this :( makes them all more attractive. Are AMD blocking custom designs still or has that not passed?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives