XFX HD5770 1GB Single Slot in CrossfireX Review

Review Score:
1 Flares 1 Flares ×

KitGuru has reviewed many HD5770 graphics cards since we opened and we still believe it is one of the best value cards on the market, combining very reasonable pricing with decent DX11 gaming performance.

There have already been a massive selection of third party cards in recent months with faster clocks and improved cooling solutions.

Today however we take a look at not one, but two XFX single slot HD5770′s which appear to be an ideal partner for a high powered gaming rig built inside a small chassis design. Media buffs will find this card very appealing as XFX have told us it runs very quietly with their new cooling system.

The clocks are running at reference AMD values, so its 850mhz on the core and 1200mhz on the memory (4,800mhz QDR effective) on a 128 bit memory bus with 800 stream processors. This is not going to set the performance world alight, but two of them in Crossfire makes for a very capable gaming foundation.

The reason for reviewing these cards today in a Crossfire configuration is two fold, firstly its much more exciting for our audience and secondly DABS are working with XFX in delivering a Crossfire X deal, bundling two of these cards for £265 inc vat. To make the deal sweeter, they are throwing in a £10 DabsPay voucher.

Key Features

  • Single slot profile
  • 1GB GDDR5 memory
  • ATI Eyefinity technology with support for up to three displays
  • ATI Stream technology
  • IP5x Dust Protection Standard
  • High Performance Japanese Solid Capacitors
  • Designed for DirectCompute 11 and OpenCL
  • Accelerated Video Transcoding (AVT)
  • Compliant with DirectX® 11 and earlier revisions
  • Supports OpenGL 3.1
  • Dual-mode ATI CrossFireX™ technology support for highly scalable performance
  • ATI Avivo™ HD video and display technology
  • Dynamic power management with ATI PowerPlay™ technology
  • DL-DVI, DL-DVI, Mini-DisplayPort
  • PCI Express® 2.1 support

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
XFX HD5770 1GB Single Slot in CrossfireX Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
1 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 1 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

29 Comments
  • AMD4EVER
    August 21, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    These are so sexy lookin’. XFX and Sapphire rocks !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Steve
    August 21, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very capable and the noise levels and power consumption is excellent.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric K
    August 21, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very impressed with these little boards. the cooler looks quite crap on the pictures due to the t iny little blades but it seems to handle the cooling fine.

    I want to see Sapphire passively cooling these though with an Ultimate Edition :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terry
    August 21, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Temperatures look a bit higher than normal, but its expected with such a cooler. Regardless im impressed with how good they are and the work XFX put into designing a custom cooler for the cards.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond
    August 21, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well these rock, I wasnt expecting them to run so well, thought the fans might be spinning at 10k to keep the temps down. if it wasnt for XFX, powercolor and Sapphire ATI would be losing a lot of sales due to their average coolers.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger
    August 21, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nice one XFX and usual quality review Zardon, very thorough.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    August 21, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Wait a minute did you say no Crossfire connector was bundled? what a miss. I hope thats not the case on the retail bundle. Otherwise a lot of people will be pissed off.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    August 21, 2010
    #8
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I mentioned it to XFX already and they are going to look into it. might just have been this review sample we received. I have no more information on that, at this time.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garry
    August 21, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    These are really sexy little boards. I know powercolor have some out, any differences you know?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joseph
    August 21, 2010
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great review KG, very efficient boards all round. good in CFx, even if scaling isnt always quite as good as it might be.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • breaker
    August 21, 2010
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Shame they never seem to ship anything in those awesome X packages now. they used to do that, and I loved to use to see them in stores.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dax
    August 21, 2010
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    ohhh, wasnt expecting a review of this today. Read it and they seem really good. pricing is spot on, but its a shame they didnt hit the 250 inc vat price point.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fred
    August 21, 2010
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    XFX aer such a quality company, imagine the GTX460 boards they would be producing NOW if nvidia werent such tools.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Gareth Cringle
    August 21, 2010
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    HONEY I SHRUNK THE VIDEO CARDS !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • me
    August 21, 2010
    #15
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nothing much to fault with these, its the way all the lower end boards should be shipping anyway. ATI take note

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rick Ghastley
    August 21, 2010
    #16
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    XFX have overcharged a little with these, they should be £5 less than the reference boards, and aim for a £240 price point, not 265. I think its going to be hard for them to sell these as people wont understand what Crossfire is. not the mass punters anyway.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Wez
    August 21, 2010
    #17
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The news here yesterday pissed me off big time. Nvidia kicking XFX into touch.

    Well I hope someone high up is reading this review, cause this is the quality product they release. Idiots.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tims Smalls
    August 21, 2010
    #18
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well these really appeal to me, i love small things, and things that dont make a racket when you game. Ideal configuration for a powerful gaming focused media center in a shuttle chassis.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garabic
    August 21, 2010
    #19
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    XFX have been quiet quite lately. so this is welcomed.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Palas Yankovic
    August 21, 2010
    #20
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    HD5770 is ATis best card right now. thats my opinion. its open to such a huge market at this price. quality gaming without spending a fortune. CFx is lovely.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian Burka
    August 21, 2010
    #21
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    One of these is enough. I dont think XFX have created enough incentives to buy two in a bundle deal. same price and you still dont get a crossfire connector !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • BigN
    August 21, 2010
    #22
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I would not buy this until I found out if XFX are bundling a crossfire connector. Neither single card box has one included, so why bundle two in a CFX bundle if people can’t use it. Very few motherboards that actually support Crossfire bundle them anymore either. so its useless until I know.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dunc @ Dabs.com
    August 23, 2010
    #23
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Hi all, my name is Dunc from dabs.com – just wanted to assure you that in the DABS exclusive XFX 5770 Single Slot Crossfire bundle that a CrossfireX Bridge is included in the box.

    http://www.dabs.com/articles/promotions/products/s-9076.html

    PS: First 10 to buy and leave a review on the item will also get a bonus free game download – either Stormrise or Stalker: COP.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • BigN
    August 23, 2010
    #24
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Duncan thanks for letting us know, thats great. ill be on after work tonight ordering for myself. cheers.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dunc @ Dabs.com
    August 24, 2010
    #25
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    No worries at all! Happy to help! Thanks for all the feedback to the offer so far, keep it coming!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dunc @ Dabs.com
    August 25, 2010
    #26
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    No worries! Enjoy the card – anyone ordering this week gets a FREE copy of Bad Company 2 worth £35 too!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dave Constable
    August 25, 2010
    #27
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Thanks Dunc, im ordered it tomorrow evening when im paid.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Chips
    August 27, 2010
    #28
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Saw the link from XFX to this today in email, putting in my order this weekend when im paid.

    Great review kitguru, bookmarked this site, all my friends are talking about it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Kurt
    August 27, 2010
    #29
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Is the battlefield offer still ok ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives