XFX HD6950 DD, HD6870 DD and HD6790 DD Review

Review Score:
22 Flares 22 Flares ×

Today we are looking at three new cards from XFX which feature their latest ‘DD’ cooling system. Before you all jump to wrong conclusions, it actually stands for ‘Double Dissipation’ – a dual fan system with 3 direct contact copper heatpipes. XFX claim record low temperatures and equally impressive noise emissions. Are the HD6950 DD, HD6870 DD and HD6790 DD really as good as they say?

There is no doubt that AMD make some great graphics cards, but when it comes to creating a decent, quiet cooling system they really struggle – I have no idea why they continue to use those tiny, high spinning red fans, but it certainly opens up the market for their partners.

XFX have already released a few graphics cards with dual fan cooling system, but they have tweaked the designs and released a new range under the ‘DD’ banner. Knowing the guys in XFX as well as I do, the sexual connotations are surely intentional.

We have three of the new cards up for test today.

The high end XFX HD6950 DD which retails for £229.99 inc vat

The mainstream performance XFX HD6870 DD which retails for £137 inc vat.

The budget gaming XFX HD6790 DD which retails for £116 inc vat.

Today we will slot them into a high end system and measure their relative performance. Are they worth the dosh?

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
XFX HD6950 DD, HD6870 DD and HD6790 DD Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
22 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 18 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 3 22 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

12 Comments
  • Terboisn
    October 14, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very nice indeed, HD6870 is by far b est value, thats a bargain.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • davy
    October 14, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Excellent, I agree HD6870 is best and its very well priced. I dont get paid for 2 weeks sadly :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Colin
    October 14, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Thought they had vanished off the face of the earth there for a while. nice to see them back … with a bang.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ramjam
    October 14, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Never mind the 6870, the 6790 is really more than most people would ever need, quite surprised how well it performs even at 1080p. But for the small price increase, 6870 is much better value.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tense
    October 14, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very good, thanks for review.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Uonono
    October 14, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I like XFX< always had good luck with their cards. shame they stopped the cool X shaped boxes they used to have.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • sd34
    October 14, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    are they the first to have used a direct touch heatpipe cooler like this?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Lawrence
    October 16, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Two of the HD6870s seem best to me, just a little more than one of the 6950′s.

    They should lower the 6950 price to £199 inc vat IMO or even £190.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brooke
    October 16, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great review man, im really looking at one of those 6790s for my media center, but it seems poor value when the 6870 is only 25 quid more.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Thomas
    October 16, 2011
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    6870 FTW. those are great cards. XFX DD version is a bargain, orfered one.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • News for Sunday October 16th 2011 | Review the Tech
    October 16, 2011
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] XFX HD6950 DD, HD6870 DD and HD6790 DD Review [...]

  • Wilker
    October 28, 2012
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    really cool. And the price isn’t really bad…

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives