XFX HD6970 3-way CFx & HD6950 CFx review

Review Score:
1 Flares 1 Flares ×

Ready for eye popping frame rates? This review today might just be the answer to your pre-Christmas hangover. We put AMD’s latest and greatest through their paces in a variety of multiple card configurations.

While AMD’s 6800 series included solid products, the re-naming strategy confused many enthusiast users. AMD effectively moved its product stack down one, and it caught a lot of people out. Then there were the price wobbles around launch time.

You’ve got to admire XFX’s marketing drive, they sent KitGuru three HD 6970′s and two HD6950′s. We will put these into an ultra high end system and give them a jolly good thrashing – why? To help you guys make educated judgements as to whether these cards should be on your shortlist for a system upgrade.

Product XFX HD6970
XFX HD6950
Core Clock speed 880mhz
800mhz
Primitive Rate
2 prim/clk
2 prim/clk
Shader Architecture
VLIW4
VLIW4
Stream Processors
24 SIMD/1536 ALU
22 SIMD/1408 ALU
Texture Units 96 88
ROPs/Z-Stencil 32/128 32/128
Frame Buffer 2GB GDDR5 2GB GDDR5
Memory Width/Speed 256 bit, 5.5 Gbps 256bit, 5.0 Gbps
Power Connectors 8 pin & 6 pin 6 pin & 6 pin
Display Outputs 2xDVI + 2x mDP + HDMI 2xDVI + 2x mDP + HDMI
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
XFX HD6970 3-way CFx & HD6950 CFx review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
1 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 1 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

17 Comments
  • opensourceboy
    December 15, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Wow this is incredible performance levels, price isnt bad either. cant believe the test 2 is delivering the same levels of performance as the XFX black edition 5970s in crossfire X. thats really interesting !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • sam
    December 15, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I think these are good boards, even though a lot of people will be disappointed with the fact the 580 is still leading the single card attack

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • eric
    December 15, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    CFX x 3 is awesome . blown away by the frame rates its generating. Noise might not suit everyone though :p

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • luke
    December 15, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The price is the biggest selling point. I dont think they are the performance killers we expected, but the 280 price for the 6970 means its actually only 30 more than the 5850 was at launch. thats quite a good figure for them to achieve. I think they are doing what they do against intel in the CPU sector. drop pricing as low as poss.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color
    December 15, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Way to go, lol Crossfire in x3. thats a nice addition. XFX seem to love Kitguru. scaling is good in some of the games, but not so good in others. unigine at 133 fps caught my eye. mental

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • KoRn
    December 15, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    That was brilliant read. loads of testing and AMD have made a rockin card. the 6950 seems to be really well price positioned. cFx3 was fun, thanks

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Seth
    December 15, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nice work Zardon, get some sleep, too much for one man :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • fluffychicken
    December 15, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Shit on a stick. CF x 3 is awesome. ill be sitting here green with envy, knowing I was shovelling snow from my driveway while I knew you were playing games with that setup

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • John
    December 15, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I wasnt expecting 3 way CFx to work so sun out of the gate. that should really kick nvidai in the nuts. im all for that.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    December 15, 2010
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Hey zardon if you are finished with the 40 cards you have can you send a few my way for a long term loaner? :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger
    December 15, 2010
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Many people seem disappointed about the fact the 580 is still the performance king.

    What about the price? 420 quid for a graphics card? its 140 quid more than the 6970. no thanks.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Long Flow
    December 15, 2010
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The bundle needs to be better. We need to start getting converters for 3 screens. mini displayport? no monitor supports that as far as I know apart from apple. a big converter cable like powercolor offer would be much better than anything else ive seen. No more Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2′s please, everyone has this game, years ago. Seems odd that no partners are selling these with better 3 screen out of the box suppotr. cables, converters etc.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    December 15, 2010
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    @ Long Flow. I think you need to realise that about 0.5 percent of the potential audience have more than one screen, regardless of what AMD try to push. I agree in theory though, its hard to sell 3 screen cards if you need converters etc, as well as a displayport monitor. Sapphire should sell a flex gaming edition, that would sell bucketloads. Something more powerful than a 5770 !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roth
    December 15, 2010
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    over 100c in 3 way sli. They need to put the slots further apart in some motherboards for this. three cards in 3 way generate such heat and its pushed into the cards beside. Love the performance, but the noise and temps would put me off immediately. dual CFx though for certain. ill probably get two 6950′s in Cfx in the new year.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dave
    December 15, 2010
    #15
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    These are really great cards. I dont care for a 430 quid board, 220 quid for the 6950 though? yes please !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Colin
    December 15, 2010
    #16
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I think that most enthusiast gamers will stretch to £300 for a board, putting the 570 and 6970 in the top end for most people. id like to see the followup with 570 against 6970. the three monitor support is a selling point, ive already two screens, one more is only 130 quid. if I want this with 570 I need another card. nvidia are lagging here. but I prefer their drivers. no idea what to buy now :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Franks
    December 15, 2010
    #17
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    awesome work , those are mega cards. need to sell my dog to get some.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives