XFX Pro 1250W Black Edition Modular Power Supply Review

Review Score:
54 Flares 54 Flares ×

Today we are looking at the new flagship power supply from XFX – the new Pro 1250W Black Edition. This power supply is aimed at the highest level of enthusiast user who might be using a high end SLI or CrossfireX system. It ships with 80 Plus Gold Certification, is a full modular design and has a Hybrid Fan Control system for ultimate noise reduction.

XFX have had a strong relationship with Seasonic in 2011, having released many power supplies which have claimed our highest awards. Seasonic have a well earned reputation for producing high quality designs, so the partnership makes sense for XFX.

XFX are keen to focus on their trademarked ‘EasyRail’ technology which they claim “enables you to maximize available power and make set-up easy. Stack numerous power-hungry components, such as your GPU, CPU and other components, without fear of crashing. It’s also a perfect solution for hardcore gamers. One Rail, One Setup”.

Hybrid Fan Control is an interesting new feature. When Hybrid mode is enabled the power supply will operate silently until it reaches 20% load, or 25c. Corsair have incorporated a similar system with some of their high end units, keeping noise to a minimum.

After 20% load (or internal temperatures of 25c) the fan will ramp up, pre-configured to ‘quiet’ mode (rated at 16dBa). When 50% load is reached (625w) then the power supply will switch to ‘Cooling mode’ which is only rated at ‘greater than’ 16 dBa. We will look at this in detail, later in the review.

Another XFX trademark is the new ‘Solidlink’ Technology which is said to maximise efficiency. Basically the new design minimises the wiring inside the unit – which subsequently is said to improve heat generation and overall product efficiency.

GD Star Rating
a WordPress rating system
XFX Pro 1250W Black Edition Modular Power Supply Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
54 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 19 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 35 54 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

19 Comments
  • Richard
    November 22, 2011
    #1
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    I love their chassis design, thats not seasonic. They are masters of presentation.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Thomas
    November 22, 2011
    #2
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Well thats extremely pretty and well designed. but £220? I guess for the target audience its small change, but I think ill pass. What price is the 1000W?

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Trevor
    November 22, 2011
    #3
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Seasonic rock. nice design. doesnt look like they cut any corners with the caps.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Jeremy
    November 22, 2011
    #4
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    I absolutely love the photos on this site. killer.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • surt10000xlt
    November 22, 2011
    #5
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    hi, do you use any any surt10000xlt ups power supply ?

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • surt10000xlt
    November 22, 2011
    #6
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    hi, do you use perhaps ups power supply surt10000xlt ?

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Optix
    November 22, 2011
    #7
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Yeah, very nice indeed. They seem to use a metal chassis and clip an outer section to make it look quite stylish. Stands out a mile IMO.

    +1

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Raymond Forrester
    November 22, 2011
    #8
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    £220 might seem like a lot of cash, but people still underestimate the need for a power supply when running high end enthusiast components. It is the biggest, single failure of many systems, causing destroyed motherboards, cpus and graphics cards.

    My friend bought a cheap ass far east make in a local store and he was forever deailing with BSOD’s, crashes, lock outs. We narrowed it down to the PSU> he was furious.

    What an idiot. :)

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Raymond Forrester
    November 22, 2011
    #9
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Mean to say, I like the Corsair range of units, I bought one, cost me a little extra over another make, but it really is a false economy long term.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • David
    November 22, 2011
    #10
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Looks great and performs well, but it has to be a small audience.

    What do you think I should buy for a HD6970 and a Core i7 2600k? something around 750W?

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Joseph
    November 22, 2011
    #11
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • 8eet 8 fr dinner
    November 22, 2011
    #12
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    lovely. wicked and pure overkill.

    What would demand more power Two GTX 590′s or four HD 6970s ? I can’t see any system taking over 1000 Watts, even with a ton of hard drives etc.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Peter
    November 23, 2011
    #13
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Wow, nice power supply, looks great too. XFX seem to have this market sorted.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • 4nuffin
    November 23, 2011
    #14
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Ordered one today, not sure when ill get it. thanks for review.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Unique
    November 23, 2011
    #15
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    The design is great, I think power supplies need to be better looking in 2011. All the same ugly matt black or white paintwork. I know that isn’t the main buying factor, but hey this would look friggin awesome in a custom build with side window and LED lighting.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • A six pack of 600+ PSUs › IT News And Reviews
    November 23, 2011
    #16
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    [...] @ HardwareHeavenPC Power & Cooling Silencer Mk III 600 W Power Supply Review @ Hardware SecretsXFX Pro 1250W Black Edition Modular @ kitguruPC Power & Cooling Silencer MK III 600W @ kitguruThortech Thunderbolt Plus 1000W PSU @ [...]

  • Sinkie Day | MEGATechNews
    November 25, 2011
    #17
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    [...] Reviews kicks it off with the Antec Eleven Hundred Computer CaseKitGuru shares its thoughts on the XFX Pro 1250W Black Edition Modular Power SupplyHardwareHeaven takes on he Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii)PureOverclock examines the Sapphire [...]

  • 11/28/2011 Daily Hardware Reviews | Oo! News
    November 29, 2011
    #18
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    [...] PSU TiVECO TVPS450 PSU @ Hardware Secrets XFFX Pro 1250W Black Edition PSU @ KitGuru [...]

  • Win a new XFX Pro Black Edition 1250W PSU & HD6950 DD! | KitGuru
    December 1, 2011
    #19
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    [...] prowess from the guys at Seasonic, who partnered up with XFX for this flagship model. We reviewed the power supply on the 22nd of November and Zardon said “We pushed the power supply hard during our testing and managed to get an [...]

Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives