XFX Pro 1250W Black Edition Modular Power Supply Review

Review Score:
54 Flares 54 Flares ×

Today we are looking at the new flagship power supply from XFX – the new Pro 1250W Black Edition. This power supply is aimed at the highest level of enthusiast user who might be using a high end SLI or CrossfireX system. It ships with 80 Plus Gold Certification, is a full modular design and has a Hybrid Fan Control system for ultimate noise reduction.

XFX have had a strong relationship with Seasonic in 2011, having released many power supplies which have claimed our highest awards. Seasonic have a well earned reputation for producing high quality designs, so the partnership makes sense for XFX.

easy rail XFX Pro 1250W Black Edition Modular Power Supply Review

XFX are keen to focus on their trademarked ‘EasyRail’ technology which they claim “enables you to maximize available power and make set-up easy. Stack numerous power-hungry components, such as your GPU, CPU and other components, without fear of crashing. It’s also a perfect solution for hardcore gamers. One Rail, One Setup”.

hybrid fan control XFX Pro 1250W Black Edition Modular Power Supply Review

Hybrid Fan Control is an interesting new feature. When Hybrid mode is enabled the power supply will operate silently until it reaches 20% load, or 25c. Corsair have incorporated a similar system with some of their high end units, keeping noise to a minimum.

After 20% load (or internal temperatures of 25c) the fan will ramp up, pre-configured to ‘quiet’ mode (rated at 16dBa). When 50% load is reached (625w) then the power supply will switch to ‘Cooling mode’ which is only rated at ‘greater than’ 16 dBa. We will look at this in detail, later in the review.

power1 XFX Pro 1250W Black Edition Modular Power Supply Review

Another XFX trademark is the new ‘Solidlink’ Technology which is said to maximise efficiency. Basically the new design minimises the wiring inside the unit – which subsequently is said to improve heat generation and overall product efficiency.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
XFX Pro 1250W Black Edition Modular Power Supply Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
54 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 19 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 35 54 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

  • Richard

    I love their chassis design, thats not seasonic. They are masters of presentation.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Thomas

    Well thats extremely pretty and well designed. but £220? I guess for the target audience its small change, but I think ill pass. What price is the 1000W?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trevor

    Seasonic rock. nice design. doesnt look like they cut any corners with the caps.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jeremy

    I absolutely love the photos on this site. killer.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://industrialuninterruptiblepowersupply.com/apc-surt10000xlt-4-outlethardline-smart-uninterruptible-power-supply-10000va-nema-l6-20r-l6-30r/ surt10000xlt

    hi, do you use any any surt10000xlt ups power supply ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://industrialuninterruptiblepowersupply.com/apc-surt10000xlt-4-outlethardline-smart-uninterruptible-power-supply-10000va-nema-l6-20r-l6-30r/ surt10000xlt

    hi, do you use perhaps ups power supply surt10000xlt ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Optix

    Yeah, very nice indeed. They seem to use a metal chassis and clip an outer section to make it look quite stylish. Stands out a mile IMO.

    +1

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond Forrester

    £220 might seem like a lot of cash, but people still underestimate the need for a power supply when running high end enthusiast components. It is the biggest, single failure of many systems, causing destroyed motherboards, cpus and graphics cards.

    My friend bought a cheap ass far east make in a local store and he was forever deailing with BSOD’s, crashes, lock outs. We narrowed it down to the PSU> he was furious.

    What an idiot. :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond Forrester

    Mean to say, I like the Corsair range of units, I bought one, cost me a little extra over another make, but it really is a false economy long term.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • David

    Looks great and performs well, but it has to be a small audience.

    What do you think I should buy for a HD6970 and a Core i7 2600k? something around 750W?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joseph

    @ david, something like this would be fine

    http://www.scan.co.uk/products/550w-psu-enermax-enp550awt-83-eff-uncertified-quiet-fan-atx-v23

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • 8eet 8 fr dinner

    lovely. wicked and pure overkill.

    What would demand more power Two GTX 590′s or four HD 6970s ? I can’t see any system taking over 1000 Watts, even with a ton of hard drives etc.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Peter

    Wow, nice power supply, looks great too. XFX seem to have this market sorted.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • 4nuffin

    Ordered one today, not sure when ill get it. thanks for review.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Unique

    The design is great, I think power supplies need to be better looking in 2011. All the same ugly matt black or white paintwork. I know that isn’t the main buying factor, but hey this would look friggin awesome in a custom build with side window and LED lighting.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: A six pack of 600+ PSUs › IT News And Reviews()

  • Pingback: Sinkie Day | MEGATechNews()

  • Pingback: 11/28/2011 Daily Hardware Reviews | Oo! News()

  • Pingback: Win a new XFX Pro Black Edition 1250W PSU & HD6950 DD! | KitGuru()

Polls

Your next PC, which memory?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives