XFX Pro 1250W Black Edition Modular Power Supply Review

Review Score:
54 Flares 54 Flares ×

Additional technical assistance: Peter McFarland and Jeremy Price.

Correctly testing power supplies is a complex procedure and KitGuru have configured a test bench which can deliver up to a 2,000 watt DC load. Due to public requests we have changed our temperature settings recently – previously we rated with ambient temperatures at 25C, we have increased ambient temperatures by 10c (to 35c) in our environment to greater reflect warmer internal chassis conditions.

We use combinations of the following hardware:
• SunMoon SM-268
• CSI3710A Programmable DC load (+3.3V and +5V outputs)
• CSI3711A Programmable DC load (+12V1, +12V2, +12V3, and +12V4)
• Extech Power Analyzer
• Extech MultiMaster MM570 digital multimeter
• Extech digital sound level meter
• Digital oscilloscope (20M S/s with 12 Bit ADC)
• Variable Autotransformer, 1.4 KVA

DC Output Load Regulation

Combined

DC Load

+3.3V
+5V
+12V
+5VSB
-12V
A
V
A
V
A
V
A
V
A V
330W
5.52
3.37
5.51
5.05
21.26
12.19
0.87
5.02
0.20 -12.06
620W
11.01
3.35
11.02
5.03
42.51
12.14
1.75
5.00
0.40 -12.09
918W
16.51
3.33
16.52
5.01
63.72
12.12
2.60
4.99
0.60 -12.13
1249W
9.00
3.29
9.37
4.99
96.00
12.08
3.45
4.98
0.80 -12.14
XFX Pro 1250W Black Edition Modular
Maximum Load
1342W

We managed to squeeze 1342W out of the unit before it would shut down gracefully.

Cross Load Testing +3.3V +5V +12V -12V +5VSB
A V A V A V A V A V
1190W 1.0 3.35 1.0 5.02 95.0 11.91 0.05 -12.13 0.05 5.00
195W 22.0 3.31 22.0 4.99 1.0 12.14 0.05 -12.11 0.05 5.00

An excellent set of results, highlighting that the design can handle dramatic load changes without any concerns at all. There is a slight dip when quickly loaded with 95A on the +12V, but it isn’t anything which would cause a problem.

We then used an oscilloscope to measure AC ripple and noise present on the DC outputs. We set the oscilloscope time base to check for AC ripple at both high and low ends of the spectrum.

ATX12V V2.2 specification for DC output ripple and noise is defined in the ATX 12V power supply design guide.

ATX12V Ver 2.2 Noise/Ripple Tolerance
Output
Ripple (mV p-p)
+3.3V
50
+5V
50
+12V1
120
+12V2
120
-12V
120
+5VSB
50

Obviously when measuring AC noise and ripple on the DC outputs the cleaner (less recorded) means we have a better end result. We measured this AC signal amplitude to see how closely the unit complied with the ATX standard.

AC Ripple (mV p-p)
DC Load +3.3V +5V +12V 5VSB
330W 10 15 15 15
620W 15 20 25 15
918W 15 25 30 20
1249W 15 25 40 20

As we had hoped from the Seasonic design, the noise suppression is fantastic, with the 12v output peaking at 40 mV at full load. All are well within industry tolerance guidelines.

Efficiency (%)
330W
89.45
620W
91.92
918W
90.45
1204W
89.76

Efficiency results are impressive, peaking around 92% at 50 percent load. This falls to just below 90 percent at full load.

We take the issue of noise very seriously at KitGuru and this is why we have built a special home brew system as a reference point when we test noise levels of various components. Why do this? Well this means we can eliminate secondary noise pollution in the test room and concentrate on components we are testing. It also brings us slightly closer to industry standards, such as DIN 45635.

Today to test the Power Supply we have taken it into our acoustics room environment and have set our Digital Sound Level Noise Decibel Meter Style 2 one meter away from the unit. We have no other fans running so we can effectively measure just the noise from the unit itself.

As this can be a little confusing for people, here are various dBa ratings in with real world situations to help describe the various levels.

KitGuru noise guide
10dBA - Normal Breathing/Rustling Leaves
20-25dBA – Whisper
30dBA - High Quality Computer fan
40dBA - A Bubbling Brook, or a Refridgerator
50dBA - Normal Conversation
60dBA - Laughter
70dBA - Vacuum Cleaner or Hairdryer
80dBA - City Traffic or a Garbage Disposal
90dBA - Motorcycle or Lawnmower
100dBA - MP3 player at maximum output
110dBA - Orchestra
120dBA - Front row rock concert/Jet Engine
130dBA - Threshold of Pain
140dBA - Military Jet takeoff/Gunshot (close range)
160dBA - Instant Perforation of eardrum

Noise (dBA)
330W
28.0
620W
28.0
918W
30.8
1249W
33.5

Accurately reading noise emissions below 28 dBa is difficult without strict laboratory conditions. The unit rated right at the limits of our testing equipment at 28 dBa when at 50 percent load or less. When it is primed to around 900W it becomes audible. At full load it can be heard, but it is still surprisingly quiet, considering.

Temperature (c)
Intake
Exhaust
330W
37
39
620W
39
45
918W
44 51
1249W
47
58

Thanks to the high levels of efficiency, the exhaust temperatures are really good, rising to a 11c above ambient under full load.

Maximum load
Efficiency
1342W
87.74%

For those interested, we measured the efficiency when stressing the unit to breaking point … around 87.74% at 1342W.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
XFX Pro 1250W Black Edition Modular Power Supply Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
54 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 19 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 35 54 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

19 Comments
  • Richard
    November 22, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I love their chassis design, thats not seasonic. They are masters of presentation.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Thomas
    November 22, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well thats extremely pretty and well designed. but £220? I guess for the target audience its small change, but I think ill pass. What price is the 1000W?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trevor
    November 22, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Seasonic rock. nice design. doesnt look like they cut any corners with the caps.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jeremy
    November 22, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I absolutely love the photos on this site. killer.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • surt10000xlt
    November 22, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    hi, do you use any any surt10000xlt ups power supply ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • surt10000xlt
    November 22, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    hi, do you use perhaps ups power supply surt10000xlt ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Optix
    November 22, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Yeah, very nice indeed. They seem to use a metal chassis and clip an outer section to make it look quite stylish. Stands out a mile IMO.

    +1

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond Forrester
    November 22, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    £220 might seem like a lot of cash, but people still underestimate the need for a power supply when running high end enthusiast components. It is the biggest, single failure of many systems, causing destroyed motherboards, cpus and graphics cards.

    My friend bought a cheap ass far east make in a local store and he was forever deailing with BSOD’s, crashes, lock outs. We narrowed it down to the PSU> he was furious.

    What an idiot. :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond Forrester
    November 22, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Mean to say, I like the Corsair range of units, I bought one, cost me a little extra over another make, but it really is a false economy long term.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • David
    November 22, 2011
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Looks great and performs well, but it has to be a small audience.

    What do you think I should buy for a HD6970 and a Core i7 2600k? something around 750W?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joseph
    November 22, 2011
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    @ david, something like this would be fine

    http://www.scan.co.uk/products/550w-psu-enermax-enp550awt-83-eff-uncertified-quiet-fan-atx-v23

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • 8eet 8 fr dinner
    November 22, 2011
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    lovely. wicked and pure overkill.

    What would demand more power Two GTX 590′s or four HD 6970s ? I can’t see any system taking over 1000 Watts, even with a ton of hard drives etc.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Peter
    November 23, 2011
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Wow, nice power supply, looks great too. XFX seem to have this market sorted.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • 4nuffin
    November 23, 2011
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Ordered one today, not sure when ill get it. thanks for review.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Unique
    November 23, 2011
    #15
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The design is great, I think power supplies need to be better looking in 2011. All the same ugly matt black or white paintwork. I know that isn’t the main buying factor, but hey this would look friggin awesome in a custom build with side window and LED lighting.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • A six pack of 600+ PSUs › IT News And Reviews
    November 23, 2011
    #16
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] @ HardwareHeavenPC Power & Cooling Silencer Mk III 600 W Power Supply Review @ Hardware SecretsXFX Pro 1250W Black Edition Modular @ kitguruPC Power & Cooling Silencer MK III 600W @ kitguruThortech Thunderbolt Plus 1000W PSU @ [...]

  • Sinkie Day | MEGATechNews
    November 25, 2011
    #17
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Reviews kicks it off with the Antec Eleven Hundred Computer CaseKitGuru shares its thoughts on the XFX Pro 1250W Black Edition Modular Power SupplyHardwareHeaven takes on he Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii)PureOverclock examines the Sapphire [...]

  • 11/28/2011 Daily Hardware Reviews | Oo! News
    November 29, 2011
    #18
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] PSU TiVECO TVPS450 PSU @ Hardware Secrets XFFX Pro 1250W Black Edition PSU @ KitGuru [...]

  • Win a new XFX Pro Black Edition 1250W PSU & HD6950 DD! | KitGuru
    December 1, 2011
    #19
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] prowess from the guys at Seasonic, who partnered up with XFX for this flagship model. We reviewed the power supply on the 22nd of November and Zardon said “We pushed the power supply hard during our testing and managed to get an [...]

Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives