MSI GT780DXR 17.3″ Laptop review

Review Score:
7 Flares 7 Flares ×

Today we are looking at one of the first prototypes of the 17.3 inch MSI GT780 gaming laptop which features a new chassis design, Quad Core Intel i7 processor, 1.5TB of Raid storage with Nvidia GTX 570M discrete graphics. Is this as good a machine as the excellent Asus G74SX which we reviewed a few weeks ago?

Asus are due to update their gaming laptop range soon, so the new MSI GT780DXR has the benefit of a higher specified Nvidia GTX570M (compared to the GTX560M in the ASUS machine). MSI wanted us to point out that the review sample we have today does not reflect the final retail quality. Our machine also has a slightly different hardware configuration, detailed below.

The MSI GT780DXR we are testing today retails for £1,498.99 with the following specifications:

  • Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium
  • 17.3 Full HD (1920×1080) LED Backlight Screen
  • Intel Core i7-2670QM Processor (6M Cache, 2.00GHZ)
  • 8GB DDR3 memory
  • 1.5TB SATA 7,200 rpm (750 GB x2) Raid 0
  • Blu Ray Optical Drive
  • Nvidia Geforce GTX 570M/1.5GB GDDR5

Our review sample was one of the first made and shipped out with a slightly lower spec (-200mhz) Core i7 2630QM processor, and 2x500TB hard drives, in Raid 0. All the rest of the specifications are the same. Our results today will therefore be slightly lower than you can expect with the retail version of the GT780DXR.

To make matters slightly more complicated, there are three versions of this machine.

The ’609UK’ which is the flagship model with a 128GB SSD/750GB HDD combination. This model also has 16GB of system memory with a 3GB GTX570M. We don’t have a confirmed price for this model just yet.

The ’621UK’ is almost the same as the model we are reviewing today, which Scan are currently stocking for £1,498.99.

Overclockers UK have an exclusive version (603UK) with lower specification Core i5 processor and a single hard drive, retailing for £1079.99.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
MSI GT780DXR 17.3" Laptop review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
7 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 6 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 7 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

7 Comments
  • Rupert Smyth
    January 18, 2012
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I love the keyboard, steelseries involved? wow never would have expected that. nice move from MSI. £1,499 is a great price considering. Why drop the backlighting for UK however? second class citizens as usual?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jeff Re
    January 18, 2012
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I love that ASUS machine although its getting a bit old in the tooth now. 570M is a good bit faster. I like the keyboard too, not sure the problem with a single height return key, maybe its not purist friendly?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Iain
    January 18, 2012
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Good looking machine. MSI make surprisingly good laptops. I like them as ASUS more than Dell etc. better spec for the price.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric
    January 18, 2012
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Lets not forget its £300 less than the ASUS too. Unless asus bring their new range prices down this year. I love the look of this, and im not botthered about a bit of noise.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Orion Field
    January 18, 2012
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Ordered this a few days ago, will gifve you my views when I get it hopefuylly friday.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • amythompson172
    January 18, 2012
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The MSI GT780DXR-446US laptop has enough juice to kick BF3 up to ultra and power out native resolution of 1080p just beautifully without a stutter. Which is primarily what I wanted it to be able to do in terms of benchmarking (along with hopefully carry through the next 3 years of game releases). Bottom line, it is a monster of a mobile machine.. And I say this without even slight hesitation.

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0064Z6Y1Y/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=emjay2d-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B0064Z6Y1Y

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • The News: Squirrel Appreciation Edition | MEGATechNews
    January 21, 2012
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] HTPC Cases (Video)ThinkComputers shares its NZXT Switch 810 Case OverviewKitGuru sits down with the MSI GT780DXR 17.3″ LaptopLegit Reviews goes inside the Bitfenix Raider Mid Tower CaseMotherboards.org checks out the Zotac [...]

Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives