Asus VG248QE 144hz Gaming Monitor Review

Review Score:
82 Flares 82 Flares ×

The ASUS VG248QE 144hz monitor is an excellent screen for 3D gaming. In this regard it is a worthwhile purchase and will cost around £100 less than the bigger 27inch ASUS VG278HE 144hz which we reviewed back in October 2012.

While we can’t find the VG248QE on sale yet in the United Kingdom, ASUS informed us that it will be priced around the £300-£320 mark, inc vat. At this price it does face stiff competition, especially from products already in the ASUS portfolio. The Asus VN247H Super Narrow Bezel monitor costs only £170 inc vat, so if 3D gaming isn’t a primary concern then you could pick up two VN247H for almost the price of a single VG248QE. They feature the same quick refresh characteristics for gamers and exhibit similar image quality for 2D duties.

The VG248QE isn’t the most technically proficient screen we have tested. The most commendable characteristic is the lightning quick refresh which ensures that artifacting/ghosting will never be a concern, but there are some image quality issues which reduce the overall score.

Viewing angles on this screen are slightly worse than the bigger 144hz VG278HE and colour degradation is noticeable if you aren’t viewing the screen from close to perfect conditions, head on.

Black Definition is only slightly above average, with noticeable shift in the corners. If you don’t have a critical eye then it will be fine, but in some situations pooling and less than stellar blacks could ruin the immersive experience when viewing high definition movies.

White purity is below average and when viewing bright outdoor scenes a ‘dirty screen effect’ was noticeable, meaning that pure whites never looked the way they should. Again, if your don’t have a critical eye, then this should not be an issue. We noticed similar DSE problems with the larger VG278HE last year.

If you only want to play 3D games then the VG248QE is a good buy. For everyone else however it is an expensive screen which delivers average image quality for 2D duties. There are much better 2D monitors available today for around the £300-£320 mark.

We award this a ‘WORTH CONSIDERING’ award if you have a primary focus on 3D gaming.

Pros:

  • Nice build quality.
  • great stand system.
  • 3D gaming is fantastic.
  • 144hz refresh rate.
  • Displayport connector.
  • quick refresh eliminates ghosting and artifacting.

Cons:

  • 2D image quality is only average at best.
  • glossy finish gets dirty quickly.
  • white purity and black definition.

Kitguru says: Not the best ASUS monitor we have tested. If you want to play 3D games all the time however, then it is worth considering.

WORTH CONSIDERING2 300x300 Asus VG248QE 144hz Gaming Monitor Review

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Asus VG248QE 144hz Gaming Monitor Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
82 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 11 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 70 82 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6

  • John

    Im going to order this as a secondary monitor, just f or 3D gaming. good enough price.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tttt

    I like their pro art range, I bought one on the recommendation of Zardon last year and I absolutely love it. better than my older Dell.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joe

    I still want the 27 inch 2560×1440 Dell which is still dropping in price – seen it for just over £500 before christmas. I think by the end of the year, they will be £420 ish.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Adrian
  • Viktor

    Hello.

    Perhaps i’ve missed it but did you even test the reponse time of the monitor? There are several tools out there that you can use. I think tthere’s a lot of people wanting to know if it really is 1ms(usually it’s not)

    This is like a newly father of two(twins) testing a sports car instead of a more family oriented car. The only real competitor to this is the Benq 2411T, comparing it to a non 120HZ monitor in 2D mode and “equaling” them just shows you don’t really care about gaming or the benefices of buying a 120+ HZ monitor and using it in 2D mode.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mez

    There aren’t that many gamers interested in 3D (stereoscopic) gaming, but they *are* interested in the 144Hz refresh rate and the almost-zero input lag that Asus is claiming.

    The Asus VN247H has neither of those critical gaming features, so is not a fair comparison.

    This new Asus VG248QE urgently needs a detailed comparison with the new BenQ XL2411T.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.squidoo.com/best-gaming-monitor-reviews jeremy2013

    FPS games require the right software for a better game quality. I really wanted to buy these kinds of monitor. I’m glad that i have found the best gaming monitor reviews on the web!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.blurbusters.com Mark Rejhon

    This monitor is much better than expected for 2D gaming if you force-enable LightBoost during 2D mode:

    http://www.blurbusters.com/zero-motion-blur/lightboost

    The LightBoost is a strobe backlight that is able to eliminate all visible motion blur during 2D gaming. Motion is as clear as on a CRT. In PixPerAn tests, this was determined:

    baseline – 60 Hz mode (16.7ms frame samples)
    50% less motion blur (2x clearer) – 120 Hz normal (8.33ms frame samples)
    60% less motion blur (2.4x clearer) – 144 Hz normal (6.94ms frame samples)
    85% less motion blur (7x clearer) – 120 Hz LightBoost at 100% (2.4ms strobes)
    92% less motion blur (12x clearer) – 120 Hz LightBoost at 10% (1.4ms strobes)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.squidoo.com/gaming-monitor nathan2013

    Good thing you have here is the diplayport which i really hope that its included. A lot of gaming monitor packages nowadays are very limited and expensive. Good one! Thanks!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • renjamolin

    Great choice for a gaming monitor. The 144hz speed is really awesome along with a high response rate. Looking forward to own and use a monitor like this one.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hash

    You are obviously not a gamer Zardon :P
    I don’t care what your lab tells you, this is one of the fastest monitors for gaming out there and has a fairly low price. Maybe it does not have great colors but we gamers don’t care about that. We just care about the 1ms response time and the insanely fast 144mhz refresh rate :P which at the time it cant be matched by almost no monitor out there for single monitor gaming. Cheers

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which SSD for your next PC Build?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives