ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Professional Motherboard Review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

With Bulldozer on the horizon, now is a great time to think about upgrading to a 990FX motherboard.  We have looked at a number of different offerings from the likes of Gigabyte and Asus, including the awesome Crosshair V Formula which sits at the top of Asus’ range.

Today we are going to look at ASRock’s flagship 990FX motherboard, the Fatal1ty 990FX Professional, which boasts a feature set to rival the Crosshair V Formula.  It also uses a very similar red and black colour scheme that is sure to appeal to many enthusiast users.  Some of the most prominent features are USB3.0 support and SATA-600 support across all six internal SATA connections.

The 990FX chipset is backwards compatible with all AMD’s current Athlon and Phenom processors so you can prepare your system for Bulldozer now.  This means you can spread out the cost of the upgrade as you don’t need to buy the CPU and motherboard at the same time.

Fatal1ty 990FX Professionalm 300x238 ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Professional Motherboard Review

A full list of product specifications can be seen over here

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Professional Motherboard Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 1 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

  • Lewis

    hard to believe that they used to be seen as a ‘budget’ model maker. Great product.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francis

    Maybe this has been asked before but some people on a forum I visit say they are actually ASUS, is this right?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dave

    Looking forward to bulldozer, but some figures leaked dont look that impress. if they are right.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger

    ill wait until I see some bulldozer reviews before b uying, but this is on my shortlist.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • JonBlades

    Hi Francis, they used to be Asus’ “sister” company, but made the break some years ago now.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jack

    I have a 1090t and ordered this today. if bulldozer is worth the upgrade ill move over !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trevor

    Excellent again. t hey seem to be on a roll lately with some great products released every week. Im an intel guy, but this is great

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Orion

    The only thing that puts me off this product is having to look at his face in the bios! can that be switched off?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • thrrur

    How often do they tend to make bios updates? I had a bad time with my last gigabyte board and thats why I moved ot asus as they are more regular.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Procupine14

    Seems to me that ASROCK are really stepping up their game. I currently have two ASROCK boards at home. One of them is about middle of the road and the other is a very budget board running a HTPC. I was very impressed with both boards and they have been running for about 6 months each 24/7 with no problems. Seems to me that both of mine come with pretty cheap looking graphics and UIs but for the feature set vs price you really can’t beat it at all.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Steevo

    You could set a really sh#t clock by AMD CPU releases, intel must be pissing themselves.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: ASRock A75M-ITX Motherboard Review | KitGuru()

  • Nate

    I am waiting on parts and will be building a system with the Buldozer and this motherboard. I would be happy to post any info on the results of the build if either Henry Butt or his readers are interested. I chose this Asrock board based on features, reviews and price. So far the board seems to be impressive in all catogories.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Nate

    I am waiting on parts and will be building a system with the Bulldozer and this motherboard. I would be happy to post any info on the results of the build if either Henry Butt or his readers are interested. I chose this Asrock board based on features, reviews and price. So far the board seems to be impressive in all categories.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    Hi Nate,

    We would love to hear your views. good luck with the system build!

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Your next PC, which memory?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives