ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Professional Motherboard Review

Review Score:
15 Flares 15 Flares ×

With Bulldozer on the horizon, now is a great time to think about upgrading to a 990FX motherboard.  We have looked at a number of different offerings from the likes of Gigabyte and Asus, including the awesome Crosshair V Formula which sits at the top of Asus’ range.

Today we are going to look at ASRock’s flagship 990FX motherboard, the Fatal1ty 990FX Professional, which boasts a feature set to rival the Crosshair V Formula.  It also uses a very similar red and black colour scheme that is sure to appeal to many enthusiast users.  Some of the most prominent features are USB3.0 support and SATA-600 support across all six internal SATA connections.

The 990FX chipset is backwards compatible with all AMD’s current Athlon and Phenom processors so you can prepare your system for Bulldozer now.  This means you can spread out the cost of the upgrade as you don’t need to buy the CPU and motherboard at the same time.

A full list of product specifications can be seen over here

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Professional Motherboard Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
15 Flares Google+ 1 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 13 15 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

15 Comments
  • Lewis
    September 5, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    hard to believe that they used to be seen as a ‘budget’ model maker. Great product.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francis
    September 5, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Maybe this has been asked before but some people on a forum I visit say they are actually ASUS, is this right?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dave
    September 5, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Looking forward to bulldozer, but some figures leaked dont look that impress. if they are right.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger
    September 5, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    ill wait until I see some bulldozer reviews before b uying, but this is on my shortlist.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • JonBlades
    September 5, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Hi Francis, they used to be Asus’ “sister” company, but made the break some years ago now.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jack
    September 5, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I have a 1090t and ordered this today. if bulldozer is worth the upgrade ill move over !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trevor
    September 5, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Excellent again. t hey seem to be on a roll lately with some great products released every week. Im an intel guy, but this is great

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Orion
    September 5, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The only thing that puts me off this product is having to look at his face in the bios! can that be switched off?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • thrrur
    September 5, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    How often do they tend to make bios updates? I had a bad time with my last gigabyte board and thats why I moved ot asus as they are more regular.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Procupine14
    September 6, 2011
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Seems to me that ASROCK are really stepping up their game. I currently have two ASROCK boards at home. One of them is about middle of the road and the other is a very budget board running a HTPC. I was very impressed with both boards and they have been running for about 6 months each 24/7 with no problems. Seems to me that both of mine come with pretty cheap looking graphics and UIs but for the feature set vs price you really can’t beat it at all.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Steevo
    September 6, 2011
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    You could set a really sh#t clock by AMD CPU releases, intel must be pissing themselves.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • ASRock A75M-ITX Motherboard Review | KitGuru
    December 30, 2011
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] a range which encompasses both budget friendly, mid-range and high-end enthusiast motherboards. The Fatal1ty 990FX Professional Motherboard we looked at a while back was aimed at the top-end enthusiast segment of the market and delivered [...]

  • Nate
    March 6, 2012
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I am waiting on parts and will be building a system with the Buldozer and this motherboard. I would be happy to post any info on the results of the build if either Henry Butt or his readers are interested. I chose this Asrock board based on features, reviews and price. So far the board seems to be impressive in all catogories.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Nate
    March 6, 2012
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I am waiting on parts and will be building a system with the Bulldozer and this motherboard. I would be happy to post any info on the results of the build if either Henry Butt or his readers are interested. I chose this Asrock board based on features, reviews and price. So far the board seems to be impressive in all categories.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    March 6, 2012
    #15
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Hi Nate,

    We would love to hear your views. good luck with the system build!

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives