Sapphire HD5670 Ultimate Edition Review

Review Score:
4 Flares 4 Flares ×

We have reviewed many Sapphire graphics cards on KitGuru over the last month and we have found them all worthy of serious consideration in their respective sectors. They often include some of the finest cooling solutions and we have been particularly enamoured with their silent range of products- such as the HD5550 Ultimate.

Today we are looking at a higher specification model, the HD5670 Ultimate Edition which comprises a meaty passive cooling solution.

This card has 400 Stream Processors and sports 1GB of the latest DDR5 memory. With clock speeds of 775MHz core and 1000MHz (4GHz effective) for the memory, it delivers the same performance as fan cooled models, but with a totally silent heatpipe cooler, making it the fastest silent cooled graphics card available today.

The fact they haven’t underclocked it is already a massive selling point, let’s take a look.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Sapphire HD5670 Ultimate Edition Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
4 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 1 Email -- Facebook 2 4 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

35 Comments
  • When Bobby met Delilah
    June 26, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Shit I cant believe they didnt reduce the clocks, thats mega, man.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric K
    June 26, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I have been waiting on a review of this for a while when I saw the press release was out last week. Great review and holy shit what a great produce for under £100!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Death Dealer
    June 26, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    what a fucking brilliant little card that is. love the heatsink dual style design with two tier heatpipe design.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    June 26, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Two of these in Crossfire would be a dream system, it would give much needed extra horsepower, with NO power connectors needed, but I bet 1920×1200 would be smooth as a babies arse. Im getting myself excited :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tom
    June 26, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Sapphire really release some fab boards, no arguments here. I will have to check this card out when I see it up for sale soon. What a stunning product, and yes I agree Crossfire with this. under £200, no power connectors, little power drain, no noise and stellar frame rates? yes please.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color
    June 26, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    oh yes. ill have two of these, please.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dilbert
    June 26, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Now this is impressive. good temps, low power drain, decent performance, no noise and good overclocking abilities.

    Might get one of these for my media center in the living room, the GTS250 makes some noise now.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • AMD4EVER
    June 26, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I am sold, completely. I dont need one as I have a 5770, but this is just brilliant.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • larry and mo
    June 26, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    If I was buying an ATI card it would be either Sapphire or XFX, but Sapphire seem to release faster and have slightly better concepts.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • robert
    June 26, 2010
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    lol quite the fan club in here :) Yeah im impressed too, its hard not to be. Hope they release it at £80 !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • fluffychicken
    June 26, 2010
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    id buy one, seems a solid product all round.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • hank the tank
    June 26, 2010
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Any ideas of the price in the USA? cant see it anywhere

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • brank
    June 26, 2010
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Canada stores have this? no one listing it even :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • dark knight
    June 26, 2010
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Always good to see high IQ, that HQV test seems really useful, might have to invest in the bluray.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • gareth cringle
    June 26, 2010
    #15
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Wonder how they will price it against the fan version at the same clocks

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rockstar lover
    June 26, 2010
    #16
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I am sick of my video card to be honest, I use it as a media system and the fan is f*cked. not sure I can afford £100 right now, but will bear this in mind.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • sexy
    June 26, 2010
    #17
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    this doesnt need any PCI power connectors, right?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • hairy beast
    June 26, 2010
    #18
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    @ sexy – its self powered from the slot, no leads required.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Steven
    June 26, 2010
    #19
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I find these boards more impressive than the 400w power sucking beasts in the high end that are only good for gaming and little else.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fraline
    June 26, 2010
    #20
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    power drain is low, and no noise. thats enough to sell me on the product> i need a card for media, almost went for the 5770 but its too much for what I need.want.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • dbd
    June 26, 2010
    #21
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Come on Sapphire – buy links!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • DaveyW
    June 26, 2010
    #22
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The card takes its power from the mainboard

    :stunned:

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bob
    June 26, 2010
    #23
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    What a lovely little board that is,

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brad
    June 26, 2010
    #24
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Interested to see the price when it hits retail. hopefully its no more than the fan version.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric K
    June 26, 2010
    #25
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    It will cost more, I would think. seems logical

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brad
    June 26, 2010
    #26
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Eric, why would you say that? the clocks are the same etc? same GDDR5 ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric K
    June 26, 2010
    #27
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    a cheap fan costs a few dollars, if even that. That heatsink would cost substantially more to manufacture. Thats my take on it anyway,.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan
    June 26, 2010
    #28
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Im going for £99 in the UK, if the fan version is £92. I think they will aim to keep it under £100. looks good in pricing lists.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    June 26, 2010
    #29
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I wish KitGuru would review two of them in Crossfire. im sick of noise and would like to see how it handles in CF at 1920×1200. A silent, yet strong gaming solution would be wicked. £200 is more than a 5770 but not as much as a 5850. would be an interesting compare.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Harry
    June 26, 2010
    #30
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    They are also good as they don’t need any PCI power cables, they get enough power from the slot. if they can churn out decent frame rates in CF at 1920 it would sell a lot of cards I think.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    June 26, 2010
    #31
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    There have been a lot of 5670 crossfire reviews posted online already, they scale well and can deliver good rates with most engines at 1920. The fact these are the same clocks but silent is such a strong reason for buying them IMO. After all in theory two 5670′s in CF would be roughly equivalent to a 5850, but without any noise or the requirement for power connectors. £50 less too.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tweaker
    June 30, 2010
    #32
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I just don’t get it. Lots of people seem to be very excited about this card, but why, when there has bee a couple passive HD5750s available for some time. There’s the GoGreen by Powercolor and one by Gigabyte as well. What makes this card special ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tweaker
    July 3, 2010
    #33
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Sapphire’s web site http://www.sapphiretech.com has been down for a couple days….hope this is not serious.

    On another note, the using the power supply connector as a metric of low power cards is not too wise. This card is capable of dissipating over 60Watts and pulling that power through the bus is just not a great idea. Personally I’d opt for the dedicated power supply connection.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tweaker
    July 3, 2010
    #34
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I just connected to Sapphire web site through a different ISP and all was well. Funny I am getting server timeouts from a broadband cable based ISP.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sapphire HD6670 (low profile/single slot cooler) Review | KitGuru
    November 25, 2011
    #35
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] of their discrete solutions within the last year. We particularly enjoyed their last generation HD5670 Ultimate Edition, which we also reviewed in a CrossfireX configuration shortly afterwards. In recent months they [...]

Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives