Home / Component / CPU / AMD Ryzen 5 1600X (6C12T) CPU Review

AMD Ryzen 5 1600X (6C12T) CPU Review

We will be outlining the Ryzen 5 1600X CPU’s performance while using an ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming K4 AM4 motherboard.

A 16GB (2x8GB) kit of G.Skill’s Trident Z DDR4 memory serves our test system. The kit’s rated frequency of 3200MHz with CL14 timings should ensure that memory-induced bottlenecks are removed. A strength for the ASRock board is its ability to run this memory at 3200MHz CL14 using XMP, which is pushing on the limit of memory speed capability for the AM4 platform.

Today’s comparison processors come in the form of:

  • Piledriver FX-8370.
  • Sandy Bridge i7-2700K.
  • Ivy Bridge i5-3570K.
  • Devil’s Canyon i7-4790K (Haswell-based).
  • Broadwell-E i7-6800K.
  • Skylake’s i5-6600K and i7-6700K.
  • Kaby Lake’s i3-7350K, i5-7400, i5-7600K, and i7-7700K.
  • Ryzen 5 1500X.
  • Ryzen 7 1700, 1700X and 1800X.

Where significant data is present in the chart (for games and all productivity benchmarks), the numbers are directly comparable with those displayed in our Ryzen 7 review HERE. This new test system is updated with the latest Windows build version which represents the only significant change (aside from multiple game updates) since Ryzen 7 testing.

It will be interesting to see how Ryzen 5 compares to its closest Kaby Lake competitor. Also of interest will be the ability of Ryzen 5 to compete with Ryzen 7 chips in lightly-threaded workloads, such as certain games.

The Ryzen 5 1600X sat comfortably at its 3.7GHz all-core boost frequency throughout testing thanks to our adequate Cooler Master Hyper 212X CPU cooler and solid power delivery from the ASRock motherboard. XFR was confirmed as operating at 4.1GHz by running multiple different single-threaded workloads and checking the real-time clock speed.

We test Intel CPUs (except the Core i5-7400) using the forced turbo (multi-core turbo – MCT) setting that most motherboard vendors now enable by default or when using XMP memory. This feature pins all of the CPU’s cores at the maximum turbo boost frequency all of the time. The voltage is bumped up to enhance stability but this results in greater power consumption and higher temperature readings which are important to remember when testing those parameters.

We also tested all CPUs’ achievable overclocked frequencies so that you can see how your overclocked chip compares to another stock or overclocked chip.

CPU Test System Common Components:

  • Graphics Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX Titan X Pascal (custom fan curve to eliminate thermal throttling).
  • CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212X / AMD Wraith Spire / Intel E97379-003 (stock, Aluminium slug) / Noctua NH-D14 / Noctua NH-D15 / Cryorig R1 Ultimate / Corsair H100i v2 / Corsair H110i GT.
  • Games SSD: SK hynix SE3010 SATA 6Gbps 960GB.
  • Power Supply: Seasonic Platinum 1000W / Seasonic Platinum 760W.
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Anniversary Update, latest version).

We try to use coolers that will realistically be partnered with the CPUs to gather performance measurements. In the case of Ryzen 5, this is a Cooler Master Hyper 212X for the 1600X and the supplied AMD Wraith Spire for the 1500X. The Core i5-7400 is tested with its stock Intel cooler.

Seasonic’s Platinum-rated PSUs provide ample power to really push the CPU overclocks. Nvidia’s GTX Titan X Pascal is the fastest gaming GPU on the planet, making it ideal for alleviating GPU-induced bottlenecks and putting the onus on CPU performance.

While we use a mixture of cooling and PSU hardware for general testing, where it is important to keep those items identical (power draw and temperature readings) we ensure that the correct hardware is used to deliver accurate data.

Ryzen 5 B350 System (Ryzen 5 1600X, 1500X):

  • 1600X CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1600X ‘Summit Ridge’ 6 cores, 12 threads (3.6-4.0GHz stock w/ 4.1GHz XFR & 4.0GHz @ 1.4V overclocked).
  • 1500X CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1500X ‘Summit Ridge’ 4 cores, 8 threads (3.5-3.7GHz stock w/ 3.9GHz XFR & 3.9GHz @ 1.4V overclocked).
  • Motherboard: ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming K4 (AM4, B350).
  • Memory: 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Trident Z 3200MHz 14-14-14-34 DDR4 @ 1.35V.
  • System Drive: Crucial MX300 525GB.

Ryzen 7 X370 System (Ryzen 7 1800X, 1700X, 1700):

  • 1800X CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X ‘Summit Ridge’ 8 cores, 16 threads (3.6-4.0GHz stock w/ 4.1GHz XFR & 4.1GHz @ 1.43125V overclocked).
  • 1700X CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 1700X ‘Summit Ridge’ 8 cores, 16 threads (3.4-3.8GHz stock w/ 3.9GHz XFR & 4.0GHz @ 1.41875V overclocked).
  • 1700 CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 1700 ‘Summit Ridge’ 8 cores, 16 threads (3.0-3.7GHz stock w/ 3.75GHz XFR & 4.0GHz @ 1.41875V overclocked).
  • Motherboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero (AM4, X370).
  • Memory: 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Trident Z 3200MHz 14-14-14-34 DDR4 @ 1.35V.
  • System Drive: Crucial MX300 525GB.

Kaby Lake & Skylake LGA 1151 System (7350K, 7400, 7600K, 7700K, 6600K, 6700K):

  • 7350K CPU: Intel Core i3-7350K ‘Kaby Lake’ (Retail) 2 cores, 4 threads (4.2GHz stock MCT & 4.8GHz @ 1.35V overclocked).
  • 7400 CPU: Intel Core i5-7400 ‘Kaby Lake’ (Retail) 4 cores, 4 threads (3.0-3.5GHz stock).
  • 7600K CPU: Intel Core i5-7600K ‘Kaby Lake’ (Retail) 4 cores, 4 threads (4.2GHz stock MCT & 4.9GHz @ 1.35V overclocked).
  • 7700K CPU: Intel Core i7-7700K ‘Kaby Lake (Retail) 4 cores, 8 threads (4.5GHz stock MCT & 4.8GHz @ 1.35V overclocked).
  • 6600K CPU: Intel Core i5-6600K ‘Skylake’ (Retail) 4 cores, 4 threads (3.9GHz stock MCT & 4.5GHz @ 1.35V overclocked).
  • 6700K CPU: Intel Core i7-6700K ‘Skylake’ (Retail) 4 cores, 8 threads (4.2GHz stock MCT & 4.7GHz @ 1.375V overclocked).
  • Motherboard: MSI Z270 Gaming Pro Carbon & Gigabyte Aorus Z270X-Gaming 7 (LGA 1151, Z270).
  • Memory: 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Trident Z 3200MHz 14-14-14-34 DDR4 @ 1.35V.
  • System Drive: Samsung 840 500GB.

Broadwell-E LGA 2011-3 System (6800K):

  • 6800K CPU: Intel Core i7 6800K ‘Broadwell-E’ (Retail) 6 cores, 12 threads (3.6GHz stock MCT & 4.2GHz @ 1.275V overclocked).
  • Motherboard: ASUS X99-Deluxe (LGA 2011-v3, X99).
  • Memory: 32GB (4x8GB) G.Skill Trident Z 3200MHz 14-14-14-34 DDR4 @ 1.35V.
  • System Drive: SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB.

Devil’s Canyon LGA 1150 System (4790K):

  • 4790K CPU: Intel Core i7 4790K ‘Devil’s Canyon’ (Engineering Sample) 4 cores, 8 threads (4.4GHz stock MCT & 4.7GHz @ 1.30V overclocked).
  • Motherboard: ASRock Z97 OC Formula (LGA 1150, Z97).
  • Memory: 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 10-12-12-31 DDR3 @ 1.65V.
  • System Drive: Kingston SM2280S3/120G 120GB.

Sandy Bridge & Ivy Bridge LGA 1155 System (2700K, 3570K):

  • 2700K CPU: Intel Core i7 2700K ‘Sandy Bridge (Retail) 4 cores, 8 threads (3.9GHz stock MCT & 4.6GHz @ 1.325V overclocked).
  • 3570K CPU: Intel Core i5 3570K ‘Ivy Bridge’ (Retail) 4 cores, 4 threads (3.8GHz stock MCT & 4.6GHz @ 1.30V overclocked).
  • Motherboard: ASUS P8Z77-V (LGA 1155, Z77).
  • Memory: 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 10-12-12-31 DDR3 @ 1.65V (@2133MHz for 2700K due to CPU IMC limitation).
  • System Drive: Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB.

Vishera AM3+ System (FX-8370):

  • FX-8370 CPU: AMD FX-8370 ‘Vishera’ (Retail) 8 cores, 8 threads (4.0-4.3GHz stock & 4.62GHz @ 1.45V CPU, 2.6GHz @ 1.30V NB overclocked).
  • Motherboard: Gigabyte 990FX-Gaming (AM3+, SB950).
  • Memory: 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Trident X 2133MHz 12-12-12-31 DDR3 @ 1.65V.
  • System Drive: Patriot Wildfire 240GB.

Software:

  • ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming K4 BIOS 2.20 (latest for Ryzen 5 testing).
  • GeForce 378.49 VGA drivers.

Tests:

Productivity-related:

  • Cinebench R15 – All-core & single-core CPU benchmark (CPU)
  • HandBrake 0.10.5 – Convert 6.27GB 4K video recording using the Normal Profile setting and MP4 container (CPU)
  • Mozilla Kraken – Browser-based JavaScript benchmark (CPU)
  • x265 Benchmark – 1080p H.265/HEVC encoding benchmark (CPU)
  • WPrime – 1024M test, thread count set to the CPU’s maximum number (CPU)
  • SiSoft Sandra 2016 SP1 – Processor arithmetic, cryptography, and memory bandwidth (CPU & Memory)
  • 7-Zip 16.04 – Built-in 7-Zip benchmark test (CPU & Memory)

Gaming-related:

  • 3DMark Fire Strike v1.1 – Fire Strike (1080p) test (Gaming)
  • 3DMark Time Spy – Time Spy (DX12) test (Gaming)
  • VRMark – Orange room (2264×1348) test (Gaming)
  • Ashes of the Singularity Escalation – Built-in benchmark tool CPU-Focused test, 1920 x 1080, Extreme quality preset, DX12 version (Gaming)
  • Gears of War 4 – Built-in benchmark tool, 1920 x 1080, Ultra quality preset, Async Compute Enabled, DX12 (Gaming)
  • Grand Theft Auto V – Built-in benchmark tool, 1920 x 1080, Maximum quality settings, Maximum Advanced Graphics, DX11 (Gaming)
  • Metro: Last Light Redux – Built-in benchmark tool, 1920 x 1080, Very High quality settings, SSAA Enabled, AF 16X, High Tessellation, DX11 (Gaming)
  • Rise of the Tomb Raider – Built-in benchmark tool, 1920 x 1080, Very High quality preset, SMAA enabled, DX12 version (Gaming)
  • The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt – Custom benchmark run in a heavily populated town area, 1920 x 1080, Maximum quality settings, Nvidia features disabled, DX11 (Gaming)
  • Total War Warhammer – Built-in benchmark tool, 1920 x 1080, Ultra quality preset, DX12 version (Gaming)

Check Also

MSI Raider GE63VR 7RE 120Hz Gaming Laptop Review

It has a 'gamer friendly' 120hz panel, but do the rest of the specs stack up?

  • Rocky40

    Thank you very nice review very well balanced 2 thumbs up. in the apart where you say IPC is stronger on the Intel part which we know to be around 6%-7% with same clock rate. With that said what are the Cinebench IPC score if Intel’s Kady-lake and the AMD Ryzen running at the same clock speed. I would assume you would use the i5 7600K since that is the CPU the Ryzen 5 1600x and 1500x are shooting for both Single and multi threaded scores would be great.

    For example my i7 2700K gets 184 single and 894 multi @ 5Ghz(5007mhz) I have 5.2Ghz scores as well I just don’t recall them right now they are higher. 5ghz is my 24/7 settings anyway 5.2Ghz is for bench testing and chest thumping…lol It was nice seeing my i7 2700K in the review @4.6Ghz it gives a reference point of where my CPU would sit running at 4.6Ghz against the newer CPU’s thank you for including the older CPU’s. I also just noticed the i5 3570K included.I also have one of those in another system @ 4.6Ghz it is good to see it is also doing good as well.

  • Ever cashed in a large sum of money without trading in a thing and even without doing almost any mlm sort of work and one never has to make investments anything. I must talk about a venture wherein many methods is actually given to you furthermore it really is a simple and uncomplicated venture. Without having to launch your very own web addresses and so on., everything is definitely provided to you at no cost at all. Visitors will definitely have a look at an online site therefore you will get remunerated for that. It is actually so simple as that. I’m taking home large sums of money at home through this job such as $20000 on a monthly basis and sometimes more in case you might wish to take home money very similar to that then follow these particular not hard guidelines by visiting this page >>>>> OLAURL.COM/15cnn

  • Gunnar Burling

    Yikes.

  • ..:: m a n i ::..

    Great review. I am happy I bought i5 7500 instead of waiting on Ryzen.

  • kaosstar

    You won’t be happy in 2 years, when the i5 is completely obsolete.

  • ..:: m a n i ::..

    I will upgrade to a hexa/quad coffee/canon lake on my b250 by then.

  • 200380051

    And have spent twice on you CPU/mobo/ram combo. Such savings!

  • 200380051

    Unreliable review. All DX12 tests should be done on Radeon cards. We all know by now how nVidia’s DX12 implementation fails big time to parallelize workloads properly. Thats why you get the same kind of results using a 1080 in DX12 compared to using DX11. Intel on top like erratic freaks (notice the 7600K Oc below the non OC).

    See for yourself : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0tfTZjugDeg

    The press should have caught on to this by now. But it seems they, too, behave like erratic zombies. Or maybe money is involved, who knows!..

  • ..:: m a n i ::..

    Why? I will just replace the cpu. I have a B250 mobo with LGA1151 chipset that will support Coffee Lake and maybe Cannon Lake too.

  • ..:: m a n i ::..

    Nvidia or AMD makes no difference. Even a non k i5 beats the crap out of Ryzens in DX12 titles.

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/11244/the-amd-ryzen-5-1600x-vs-core-i5-review-twelve-threads-vs-four/13

    ^ See for yourself.

  • ..:: m a n i ::..

    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=mbK0n5FjvhI
    ^ Ryzen 5 loses in almost all games even to a non k i5.

  • 200380051

    you will still have bought 2 CPUs

  • 200380051

    Well in tests involving AMD cards (second half of the page, R9 Fury and RX480), what i see is either Ryzen pulling ahead, on being neck in neck with Intel CPUs. There are other cases where the test is GPU bottlenecked which means Anand has failed to adapt settings to avoid that.

    Only cases where Ryzen gets destroyed is when using NV cards, which proves my point.

  • kaosstar

    Also, it’s been shown in many places that Nvidia GPU performance is gimped on Ryzen CPUs.

  • kaosstar

    I see you conveniently forgot to link to the other DX12 benches in that review. Let me help you: http://www.anandtech.com/show/11244/the-amd-ryzen-5-1600x-vs-core-i5-review-twelve-threads-vs-four/11

    Ryzen absolutely destroys every intel chip in that one.

  • kaosstar

    Cannon Lake is only coming to low power notebooks. Coffee Lake is coming to the desktop, but it will use a new chipset. So, you’ll have to buy a new motherboard too.

  • ..:: m a n i ::..

    I can sell or shovel the old cpu under some dumb troll as I always do. BTW thats called upgrade.

  • ..:: m a n i ::..

    I know in strategy games more cores/threads matter. But I dont play any so I am happy with my i5. Its good to have competition good for both amd and intel fans. I was myself using AMD cpus from last 12 years. But now will stay with intel for some time as I bought B250 board and upgrade to upcoming hexa/quad intel chips. Hopefully cheap thanks to AMD.

  • 200380051

    I think our view of things is jut different. it’s okay.

  • 200380051

    It is the other way around. Nvidia writes their GPU drivers. They have a choice, to optimize for Ryzen or not. And of course they won’t.

  • ..:: m a n i ::..

    Coffee Lake is socket LGA1151
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coffee_Lake

    And it will come in hexa core in 2018.

  • Vivek Kumar

    can i run g.skill 3000mhz 8x2gb (CL15-16-16-35) kit with amd ryzen 1600x

  • Mark

    Actually. INTEL hasn’t confirmed Coffee Lake to be socket 1151 compatible. If so it could also be just new 3XX Chipset compatible. I hope not, but knowing Intel it is possible. They don’t give much information.

  • SuperkoopaTrooper

    Turns out you both are wrong and just smearing a company. Square released a new tomb raider update that drastically increases ryzen performance with nvidia GPUs so…

  • 200380051

    Square huh?

    Nixxes did address the DX12 performance optimization story for Ryzen CPUs, but then again it favored AMD more than nVidia. http://wccftech.com/dx-12-ryzen-rise-of-the-tomb-raider-patch-1-0-770-1/

  • Mrflappywilly

    And just been confirmed it uses a new chipset… So new board for you.

  • ..:: m a n i ::..

    Its just a tweet but heck I will upgrade to i7 7700K instead. Its still a badass.

  • Rick Lane

    Absolutely you can. Running G.Skill Ripjaw 4 3000mhz @2933 mhz after bios update. I just selected A-XMP 2 and everything auto adjusted, no issues at all.

  • Rick Lane

    Intel changes its chipset every other advancement. The way things are going with Intel, anything you get now will require a full upgrade in about 1 year. Thing is, Intel fanboys wont switch to AMD anyway. Why spend more money for Intel when right now AMD is right there with them at a much lower price point?

  • ..:: m a n i ::..

    The same will happen with AMD too. You can’t expect AM4 chipset to continue that long either. After 2-3 years we will get a new chipset for new Ryzens. Right now its safe to chose any (Intel or AMD) if you are building a new machine. But if you are having a 3 year old intel chipset with a slow cpu like me, i7 7700k is still a worthy upgrade.

    https://www.techspot.com/review/1505-intel-core-8th-gen-vs-amd-ryzen/page6.html

  • Rick Lane

    But why spend more money on Intel, when you can get a very similar performance AMD and use the money you saved to get a better GPU?

  • ..:: m a n i ::..

    I have an i5 7500 on a B250 with 16GB DDR4 2400. Why would I buy a whole new system when I can just upgrade the CPU to i7 7700K and get performance better than an R7 1800X.

  • Rick Lane

    Just remember that if you get an i7 7700K, you cannot OC it on a B250 mobo, it doesnt support overclocking. Only boards that do are X or Z series.

  • ..:: m a n i ::..

    Yes i know. Not a big fan of OCing anymore. Had my FX 4300 oced to 4.7ghz. OCing cpu these days does not give more frames in all the games.. not worth the extra power we spend.